Register now to get rid of these ads!

Solid Axle On a twin I Beam F100?

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by few loose bolts, Dec 4, 2011.

1. few loose bolts

few loose bolts
    from US

Has anyone out there considered/ actually done a conversion like this? I've got a 66 F100 so it has twin i beams. I have the front suspension from a 54. i know the widths are different but i was thinkingn that'd be a plus since i'm runnig wide wheels up front anyways. from what i've seen, solid axles are very easy to lower. just curious if anyone has tried this or how feasable y'all think it'd be. thanks

2. ArizonaBill

ArizonaBill
    from Arizona

theres a big ole crossmember in the way for this kind of swap to work

but it could be done with enough fab work.... heck someone stuck a twin I in my 62 uni!

3. few loose bolts

few loose bolts
    from US

hm... what about either re-locating or making a new crossmemeber? fab work is no problem, i have plenty of experience with metal work. i'm just thinking this would be a much cheaper option and somewhat easier than a subframe swap. i'm fine with my truck driving like a truck, i just want it sittin pretty, closer to the ground

4. Mr48chev

Mr48chev
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

That sounds like you want to take a fairly decent driving truck an make a piss poor driving truck out of it. I can never understand some people's reasoning on these things.

5. A Rodder

A Rodder

You really cant get to low unless you use a dropped axle. using a stock axle with all but the two long leafs will have the suspension completely bottomed out against the frame. It will look good but no travel, at all.

6. ArizonaBill

ArizonaBill
    from Arizona

Z the frame before the front cab mounts!

7. A Rodder

A Rodder

[​IMG]

This is using all stock components on my 64 I had.
    The front sat against the frame, all the time, the only travel was in the radials..... not good.