Register now to get rid of these ads!

Hot Rods SELL MY FIRST HOT ROD OR NOT?

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by bowtietrux, Jul 27, 2014.

1. bowtietrux

bowtietrux

So I'm thinkin about sellin my truck. The motor and trans are really tho only thing of value, so I can't sell just the shell. But I am coming to a point in my life where the lowered, flat black pickup truck with two bucket seats seems too adolescent for me. I'm 29, I have a daughter and a wife and we all can't go anywhere together in this truck. Not to mention safety. Since I was a kid I've had my eye on a 94-97 impala (or a clone) and I think if I were to get the truck running well I could sell it and buy one. A 12 second truck for a 15 second car... A semi-powerful family sedan with room for five, A/C, and power steering haha... I'm just frustrated with the constant attention of a hotrod. I know I'll regret it but I have a two year old and I work 50-60 hours a week. I'm a manager at an oil change and repair shop, I really like my job, and I don't think that will change anytime soon. So free time for maintenance and repair will likely be a problem until retirement. But, to sell my truck would be like sellin a kid. I could make it loads more reliable with an HEI and a new carb but I could still only have one passenger.... I know I'm not the first person to have to make this choice, you guys have any related experience/ advice?

2. VoodooTwin

VoodooTwin
    from Noo Yawk

Sounds like you need something that can seat 4 and bring you pleasure. I won't comment on the OT impala though. :)

3. squirrel

squirrel

Figure out a way to hang on to the truck, and get something else to cart the family around in for a few years. I guess I'm lucky, I still have my old truck, I swapped in the big block in 1979 when I was still in high school, and all these years later I still get to drive around in it like I'm a juvenile delinquent again.

4. tfeverfred

tfeverfred
    Member Emeritus