Register now to get rid of these ads!

Technical Rambler guys - need tuning help

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Buddy Palumbo, Apr 26, 2015.

1. Buddy Palumbo

Buddy Palumbo

Hey guys - I am a bit perplexed as to what's going on with my friend's Rambler. It's a 59 Rambler Rebel wagon with a 327 Rambler 'plant and the factory Holley 4 barrel carb. It was running bad and dying randomly when he got it , so I rebuilt the carb and got it all idling happy , but when you drop it into drive, the idle deteriorates quickly and it dies . When you restart it , all is well till you put it in drive , then it dies. If I jack up the idle too much , it slams into gear , which isn't good on things , and the idle deteriorates and dies , just as before . These things are supposed to idle at like 500 rpms , there's no way that's happening here. What the hell am I missing here ?? I'm not a rambler expert, but it isn't my first rodeo working on a Holley or a v-8 'plant ...

Last edited: Apr 27, 2015
  2. Buddy Palumbo

Buddy Palumbo

Since everyone likes pics - here are a few of this cool old Rambler :) .

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Maverick Daddy likes this.
  3. blowby

blowby
    from Nicasio Ca

Wow that thing actually looks nice! Do you have vacuum advance hooked to manifold vacuum? In any case I would check with a timing light to see if and how much the timing retards between neutral and in gear. Also vacuum change.

4. orangeamcs

orangeamcs

I was thinking the same thing about the vacuum advance. you could always disconnect it to test it

5. Buddy Palumbo

Buddy Palumbo