Register now to get rid of these ads!

Technical Question for the Y block guys

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by SCtattooer, May 27, 2015.

1. I recently bought a 55 Ford pickup from a shop that rebuilt the motor for a customer, and the customer never came back for the truck. The motor is the original Y block and 3 speed trans. (Don't ask me what size, I have no idea about these motors.)
    I'm thinking about changing to a later model big block and 4 speed. My question is this. What would this y block motor and trans be worth if I was to sell it? It's only been run to break it in at the shop. Compression is great, clutch is great, trans shifts smooth. any educated guesses are appreciated, as I have zero knowledge of these motors.

[​IMG]

2. vintagetinman

vintagetinman

The shop that rebuilt the engine should have told you what the displacement is as they would have had to measure it for new bearings,rings,and pistons. If i had to guess what engine it started out with in 55 I would bet on it being a 272. However it has been 60 years it could have had several engines in that time.

As for pricing the engine if you don't have documentation to prove the rebuild all you have is a good used engine. In my opinion a good used y-block is worth 500 to 1000 and 1500 to 2500 for a rebuilt y-block with documentation.

3. vintagetinman

vintagetinman

May I ask why you want to replace the y-block? I think they look great dressed up and they just sound bad-ass! Plus they can be built to make tons of power just ask mummert or mctim64.

If you are dead set on swapping in a later engine. You can bolt in a Ford FE using the same motor mounts that bolt to the y-block no cutting or welding required.

Rodshop likes this.
  4. sunbeam

sunbeam

From the picture I do not see a road draft tube on the lower left side of the motor. That would make it a 60s 292. A rebuilt complete 292 ought to be worth a $1000 up.