Register now to get rid of these ads!

History Nationwide/Nationwise Rod Shop????

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Bill23t, Jan 27, 2011.

1. Bill23t

Bill23t

This is my first time to ask a question. I'm just wondering if anyone has any information on the old Nationwide/Nationwise (?) Auto Parts Stores? I'm looking for some information on valve covers that I have, they have NRS stamped into them. Told that it means Nationwide Rod Shop, from the late 60's early 70's. Wondering how to find out how old that they really are? I've had them for almost 20 years now. Was it actually a rod shop, or parts store. Heard that there used to be one in Columbus, Ohio. Any information would be greatly appreciated. Bill
    <!-- / message -->

2. It is Nationwise Auto Parts. I worked there in the 80's and still have some Rod Shop stuff (posters, handouts, etc).

"The Rod Shop" was a actual race team out of Ohio and Nationwise Auto Parts was a sponsor. Natinwise got to use the cars for promotions and to help sell speed equipment. We had a wall in the store with various speed and chrome parts for customers to dream on. It had a banner above it that said "The Rod Shop" hence the tie in to to the actual race team.

I have seen the valve covers in both SBC (staggered and straight hole) and BBC. They must be from the late 60's to early 70's just by the style of the NRS logo on the top.

Nationwise also sponsored some NASCAR teams in the early 80's. I still have a model kit somewhere in the closet.

Here is a pic of one of the last cars to carry the Rod Shop / Nationwise logos.

[​IMG]

and one from the early 70's

[​IMG]

3. Rodshop57

Rodshop57
    from Berry Ky