Register now to get rid of these ads!

Hot Rods L31 Carburetor Conversion Help

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by 48pontiactorpedo, Feb 6, 2016.

1. Hello Gentleman,

Newbie here, I will soon be purchasing the L31 (Part [HASHTAG]#12530283[/HASHTAG]) from Jegs that I want to convert to using a carburetor. What do I need to do for the conversion ? What else do I need to purchase ?

Also, will this be fine with my TH350 Trans ?

Thanks Guys

2. Budget36

Budget36

Those were just originally TBI truck engines, right?
    Intake, distributor, carb.
    Your trans will bolt up fine.
    I don't know what you have for an engine now, but ofcourse you'll need all accessory brackets and such.

Were those truck serpentine belted?..If so, you need to make sure (assuming you'll run V-belts) that you don't ask for a water pump from those years, as they would be reverse rotation (if serp belt used).

volvobrynk and 48pontiactorpedo like this.
  3. that motor has a one piece rear main seal , so you will need the appropriate flexplate

the intake manifold will have to be the later type where all the bolts go straight down , not at an angle like the earlier motors

48pontiactorpedo likes this.

4. I believe I'll also need an electric fuel pump now, do you agree ?

Nailhead Jason likes this.
  5. Budget36

Budget36

The description says based on '86-'90 block, so I think you are correct...a quick call to Jegs would confirm/deny it.

6. You may you may not. The original production blocks from 86 to the early 90's have the fuel pump pushrod machined in the block and have a block off plate. The later 90's blocks are cast for the fuel pump but not machined. Also if it is for a TBI motor the cam in it may not have a lobe for the fuel pump.

7. gimpyshotrods

gimpyshotrods
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

He will need an electric fuel pump, even if the boss is there, and the hole for the pushrod is drilled.