Register now to get rid of these ads!

How to get a matching pair of Appletons 112

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Surfcityrocker, Apr 22, 2013.

1. Some months ago I bought me a pair of Appletons 112 for my 50 Mercury here on the classifieds (Thanks michu!)

Interestingly the spotlights were different in several details. One of them did not have a Westinghouse bulb, but a separate glass, reflector and bulb holder. The chromed arm was longer (and bent) and the handle was of a different type than on the other (with a small Appleton sticker). Also the inside mounting hardware were completely different. I am no Appleton expert, but it looks like this is an older version of the 112:

Lamp bucket:

[​IMG]

Reflector:

[​IMG]

Mounting hardware:

[​IMG]

Longer and bent arm:

[​IMG]

As I did not want to have a pair of different spotlights in my car, I considered several options:

- Sell one the one shown above as it is bent and - apart from the bucket - has pitted chrome, then get me a new matching one: too expensive.....

- Live with the different reflectors/bulbs, but cut down the arm to the same length as the other? Impossible as this would destroy all the handle mechanism inside the arm that moves the spot.

- Try to find one of the cheaper Appleton Spotlights (not 552 or 112) with a Westinghouse bulb, similar arm and handle.

I opted for the last alternative and got me a nice 551 Appleton Spot for 80 Bucks at evilbay, that looked like it could have the right parts for my 112.

So now I had three spotlights and the hope that the parts would match:

Good 112 on the left, good 551 in the middle and not so good, pitted and bent 112 on the right:
    [​IMG]

Last edited: Apr 22, 2013
  2. I also tried to get a matched pair together. I had one excellent and tried to build a second from parts. I could never get it to work and always seemed to be missing some little part, to make an identical matched pair.