Register now to get rid of these ads!

Hot Rod Wheelbase - What's good? What's yours?

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by stan292, Apr 28, 2005.

1. stan292

stan292 Member

I'm finally getting down to transferring my computer sketches (sorry guys, computer graphics is what I do for a living) into hand-drawn layout to exact scale (yeah, I can do that too - and did for many years before the advent of the computer).

Anyway, I had been thinking somewhere around 100 inches for the wheelbase, but as I really begin to dial in the details - and pay close attention to scale - I'm quickly running out of room for everything.

I'm using a straight six motor, so that requires some extra length (the block itself is 34" - without pulley, fan, etc.), and my cab is an International - a few inches longer than a Ford, I believe (52 1/2" from firewall to backside). Also, my axle is set out front about a foot ahead of the radiator cowl.

Suddenly, it's looking like I'll need about 120" - that seems pretty long. Of course, I can set the motor back into the cowl some (it's currently located with its very back end dead even with the firewall), but I'd rather not. I could pull the axle back some too, but I definately want it haning out there on its own - suicide/racecar style. No way it can sit under the frame.

I don't mind the long wheelbase per se, as it should enhance the ride (important at my severely advanced age - LOL), but I don't want it to be a bus either. Any comments, suggestions, examples, etc.?
  2. flamedabone
    Drinkin' beer and building hot rods in S. Carolina

flamedabone
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

What kind of car are you building?

My Model A on 32 rails is 109 inches. I made it as long as I could get away with to fit the big assed motor and give me th ebest ride I could.

LOTS of variables, though. Gimme some particulars.

-Abone.
  3. stan292

stan292 Member