Register now to get rid of these ads!

Heavy Duty Engine Stand

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by BashingTin, Oct 27, 2012.

1. BashingTin

BashingTin

Hello all!

Not 100% sure if this qualifies as HAMB friendly. If not, just delete it. My spelling is also horrible sometimes, so please excuse me.

I've been impersonating a machinist and fabricator now for over 35 years. The plan for my own project is a 28-29 Model A Coupe powered by an early Hemi. I have no real experience working on a car of this era, so I'm hoping I can succeed at it leveraging my machining and fabrication skills. And of course, with a lot of help and guidance from the good folks here on the HAMB.

I've been putting together a stand for the engine I'm using in my own car project. The motivation behind the stand sort of started cooking in the back of my head after hearing several people warn me about the unusually high weight of my chosen engine. It was advised I put some kind of brace under the front of the engine when it's on the stand. This was out of fear it could break the stand and tumble to the floor. I'm not kidding, this is what I was told. I still question whether building a heavy duty engine stand was really needed. I personally think most stands out there can safely hold a 700+ lb engine. But I was bored, and short on funds for my own car project, so I rolled up my sleeves and took a stab at building a heavy duty engine stand worthy of an early Hemi.

My personal car project is moving very slow due to many things at the moment. For starters, I still haven't found a body yet, and collected enough kit. I did once have a body lined up, but the deal unfortunately fell through.