Register now to get rid of these ads!

Chevy 283 engine to a 350 Turbo trans

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by 41 Ford pick-up, Nov 24, 2010.

  1. 41 Ford pick-up
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Posts:
    142
    Location:
    NE Pa

    41 Ford pick-up Member

    I have a 1960 Chevy 283 engine and want to put a 350 turbo trans to it--but will not bolt up to engine bell housing have a 1 1/2 '' space between engine and trans---flywheel and flexplate-( small 13'' flywheel) hits--also what year starter to use-stagger bolt pattern---looking for person who has this combination and what did they do--Thanks
  2. OLIVER BROS GARAGE
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Posts:
    7,236
    Location:
    Des Moines, Iowa

    OLIVER BROS GARAGE Member

    As long as you have "NOTHING" bolted on to the back of the block a 350/400 turbo trans "WILL" bolt right up!
  3. cvstl
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Posts:
    749
    Location:
    StL MO

    cvstl Member
    1. H.A.M.B. Chapel

    Take the flywheel off and bolt flex plate on.....
  4. gonejunking
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Posts:
    50
    Location:
    NW USA

    gonejunking Member

    is the torque converter all the way into the tranny?
    Register now to get rid of these ads!

  5. plymouth1952
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Posts:
    2,152
    Location:
    Grants Pass Ore

    plymouth1952 Member

    what he said I did this back in 78 worked well
  6. squirrel
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2004
    Posts:
    26,065
    Location:
    Sierra Vista AZ

    squirrel Member

    use one or the other...flywheel for standard trans, flexplate for automatic. not both.

    63-80something starter should work, ask for one for a 307 engine from about 1970 with the th350 trans in a midsize car (chevelle/nova)
  7. onedge
    Joined:
    May 25, 2006
    Posts:
    997
    Location:
    cream ridge

    onedge
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

    no flywheel. flexplate with atuo tranny .
  8. Desoto291Hemi
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2009
    Posts:
    353
    Location:
    Carthage , Tennessee

    Desoto291Hemi Member

    You are using a Chevy 350 tranny ,, Right?
    Should bolt directly to the block.

    Tommy
  9. ryno
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Posts:
    3,305
    Location:
    carl junction mo.

    ryno Member

    did you remove the stock adapter that was used from the factory on your then power glide?
  10. 40Standard
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2005
    Posts:
    5,052
    Location:
    Indy

    40Standard Member

    it's a natural fit. 350 turbo to a 283
  11. Lobucrod
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2006
    Posts:
    3,927
    Location:
    Springtown, Tx

    Lobucrod
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

    IT will bolt right up. Sounds like the torque convertor is not all the way in. You might have to use the larger diameter flywheel cause not all the 283 blocks have one of the correct holes for the starter housing that works with the small flywheel. Before installing the tranny make sure you have the starter/flywheel combo worked out.
  12. 61 chevy
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2007
    Posts:
    892
    Location:
    north carolina

    61 chevy Member

    use flexplate only with auto trans, you do know that dont you? :confused:
  13. SLAMIT
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2002
    Posts:
    882
    Location:
    Back In Santa Cruz

    SLAMIT Member

    or check and make sure you dont have a BOP trans. but it sounds like you have some ohter issues. follow the advice the others have given and you sound be OK.
  14. propwash
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    Posts:
    3,837
    Location:
    Las Vegas

    propwash Member

    why do you have a 13" flywheel in this assembly? and where did the 1½" spacer come from? You make it trying solve the problem? You must have some seriously long crank flange bolts to keep the flex plate AND flywheel in there.

    dj
  15. 55chevr
    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Posts:
    747
    Location:
    Long Island

    55chevr Member

    sounds like an Olds or Pontiac trans ... photo please
  16. dirtracer06
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2009
    Posts:
    132
    Location:
    Sioux Falls SD

    dirtracer06 Member

    Pilot bushing left in the end of the crank, not allowing the input shaft of the tranny to slide into the crankshaft ?
  17. pictures help dude!
  18. OLIVER BROS GARAGE
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Posts:
    7,236
    Location:
    Des Moines, Iowa

    OLIVER BROS GARAGE Member

    Not on an automatic!
  19. dirtracer06
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2009
    Posts:
    132
    Location:
    Sioux Falls SD

    dirtracer06 Member

    So did ya finger it out ?
  20. 1939STREETROD
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2006
    Posts:
    242
    Location:
    binghamton ny

    1939STREETROD Member

    Remove the adapter plate for the powerglide trans!!!!
  21. dirtracer06
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2009
    Posts:
    132
    Location:
    Sioux Falls SD

    dirtracer06 Member


    Yep, that was a durrr moment.....:eek:
  22. Johnny Gee
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Posts:
    4,154
    Location:
    2.7 miles East of the Broiler on SR42 Downey, Ca

    Johnny Gee Member

    8 days and no info if it has been resolved. Lots of on the money replies, guess we will all keep waiting :(.
  23. 41 Ford pick-up
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Posts:
    142
    Location:
    NE Pa

    41 Ford pick-up Member

    Thanks to everyone--problem solved-------
  24. 40Standard
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2005
    Posts:
    5,052
    Location:
    Indy

    40Standard Member

    what was wrong? we gotta know

Share This Page

Register now to get rid of these ads!

Archive

Copyright © 1995-2013 The Jalopy Journal: Steal our stuff, we'll kick your teeth in. Terms of Service. Privacy Policy.

Atomic Industry
Forum software by XenForo™ ©2010-2014 XenForo Ltd.