Register now to get rid of these ads!

ASBESTOS in cars ????

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Junkyard Dog 32, Jan 25, 2004.

1. As many of you know, I'm a repair welder. I've been removing these rusted out fireplace inserts up here for the last few years. Each one has had a white fiber-like insulation between the steel insert and the brick. It never occured to me that it may contain asbestos.
    Chances are, it has, and the intense way it gets blown apart while cutting with a torch has me believing I may have been exposed to some bad shit. I just did one yesterday, and today it hit me. FUCK!!!

My question, here, is...
    Other than brake pads, is there asbestos in the antique cars we are all tearing into? Carpet? Seats? Wiring? That insulation that's adhered to the inside of the hood... etc.

I did a search, but almost everything is home and workplace related. I'm just wondering about the cars. Should it be of concern to all of us old car guys?
    Anyone know?

BTW... I went back to the job I was on yesterday and got a sample of the insulation from that fireplace, and will be sending it in for testing. Keep your fingers crossed.
    ...and NO I wasn't wearing a mask [​IMG]

JOE[​IMG]

2. DrJ

DrJ

Some MGs have a heat shield behind the carbs with Asbestos on it, if it hasn't all blown off by now and gon in the fresh air vents that is... [​IMG]

3. Greazer

Greazer

Model-A manifold gaskets come to mind. (I remember seeing them being sold with asbestos by an online company, as recently as 6 months ago).

JYD32, That sucks to hear about your exposure.

(A few years ago, I was working at a petroleum refinery and there was a unintentional release of asbestos. Next thing I know, my truck is being quarrantined off by dudes in moon suites. All they did to remediate the situation was bring out a garden hose and rinse my truck down. WTF? I was expecting more of a NASA style proceedure [​IMG]).

4. [ QUOTE ]