Register now to get rid of these ads!

700 r4 wiring,help,please!

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by porkchop4464, Nov 15, 2009.

  1. porkchop4464
    Joined: Jan 20, 2009
    Posts: 502

    porkchop4464
    Member

    Hey all,

    Am I understanding it correctly, that if I wire the red or (A) of the three pins on the 700 , then daisey chain or loop the red to blue and then white, with a cut switch on the brake pedal on the blue wire, that this is the easiest and cheapest way to wire a 700? I don't need a lock up converter in any gear but 4, and I also would be fine to lock this thing up with a single toggle on the dash (on and off). There looks like there are 4 pins, but there are only three on the 700 r4, right? I need it explained in teh crudest and simplest way. All help will be grealty appreciated. I see all these kits, and I don't want to spend 60 bucks and pull teh pan and re-wire and bla, bla, when , if there is a single wire or two combined with a switch that can solve this deal. Any pros or people who have roughed it through not buying a kit and figuring this beast out - please help.

    the Pork
     
  2. powdercoater46
    Joined: Oct 27, 2009
    Posts: 245

    powdercoater46
    Member

    You only need to put 12 v on one wire, controlled by a toggle switch. You will have to manually switch it off when u plan to slow to a stop. This is the low budget way.

    I'll have to look at a diagram in the garage to tell u which wire gets the 12v.
     
  3. troylee
    Joined: Jul 10, 2007
    Posts: 682

    troylee
    Member
    from Milwaukee

    Instead of a toggle switch Yoou can use a 2 pole brake switch at the peadle. A hyd brake light switched plumed in with a light relay Is what I use. You can get all the parts for under 20 bucks. You mite be able to piggy back off the brake light switch you already have into the relay.
     
  4. Von Rigg Fink
    Joined: Jun 11, 2007
    Posts: 13,436

    Von Rigg Fink
    Member
    from Garage


    this is what i want to do.
    you have a part number for the light relay or would any 2 pole relay work?

    what happens when you just take your foot off the accelerator for a long period in lock out and not touch the brake pedal? Does the TV cable tell the trans to unlock the converter?
     
    Register now to get rid of these ads!

  5. Zombie Hot Rod
    Joined: Oct 22, 2006
    Posts: 2,416

    Zombie Hot Rod
    Member
    from Bronx, NY

  6. If I get this type of switch, will it lock the TC in 4th gear automaticaly? What needs to be done to get the TC to unlock...or does this switch do both functions automatically?...
     

    Attached Files:

  7. hoop
    Joined: Mar 21, 2007
    Posts: 438

    hoop
    Member

    As soon as you start to slow down enough trans downshifts as soon as that happens converter unlocks.
     
  8. dare-to-be-different
    Joined: Apr 7, 2007
    Posts: 883

    dare-to-be-different
    Member
    from Illinois

    If you take the wiring in your picture (posting #6) and interrupt one wire with a toggle switch on the dash, you can force it to stay unlocked no matter what.
    Even if the trans or the "control kit" wants the convertor locked, you can prevent that with the added switch so you can keep it unlocked if you choose.
    - your question implies that you may want to run in 4th without being forced to accept the convertor being locked. correct? (I run unlocked almost all the time)
    That was your question wasn't it?
     
    Last edited: Aug 17, 2010
  9. DARE-TO-BE-DIFFERANT - No, what I'm wondering is if the converter will lock and unlock in a normal manner...by itself, at the appropriate time...
     
  10. JAWS
    Joined: Jul 22, 2005
    Posts: 1,853

    JAWS
    Member

    [​IMG]


    Credit goes to smoke em up site.
     
  11. dare-to-be-different
    Joined: Apr 7, 2007
    Posts: 883

    dare-to-be-different
    Member
    from Illinois

    What's an apropriate time?

    Each and every kit or method has a different idea of what is apropriate.

    It sounds like you are asking for one of the really expensive kits that does everything without any driver input. Try B&M.
     
  12. fiftyv8
    Joined: Mar 11, 2007
    Posts: 3,491

    fiftyv8
    Member
    from CO & WA

    Great stuff...
     
  13. Rob Paul
    Joined: Nov 11, 2005
    Posts: 1,245

    Rob Paul
    Member

    On this kit the blask wire runs to the pressure switch, but where does the red wire go? DOes it just get power when the key is on?

    ROB


     
  14. Black is to ground, red is to 12V "Ignition On"...
     

Share This Page

Register now to get rid of these ads!

Archive

Copyright © 1995-2013 The Jalopy Journal: Steal our stuff, we'll kick your teeth in. Terms of Service. Privacy Policy.

Atomic Industry
Forum software by XenForo™ ©2010-2014 XenForo Ltd.