Register now to get rid of these ads!

402 Chevs

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by panhead_pete, Jul 26, 2007.

1. panhead_pete

panhead_pete
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

Hi guys in my recent tavels I have been offered a 402 chev motor and know nothing of these. Is there something I need to know prior to purchasing this? Here's a snap of the motor, thanks.

[​IMG]

2. nexxussian

nexxussian

I'm no expert by any means, but I thought the 402 was one of the W head engines? To my decidedly untrained fryball that looks like a prettied up Mark IV Big Block Chevy. I don't know though.:confused:

3. Wesley

Wesley

basically it is just a overbored 396.

4. nexxussian

nexxussian

Duh-Hah! Makes more sense now.:D

5. factory f up starting in 69 i think
    like they said above .030 over 396
    and 396 sounds cooler than 402 so they kept the badges( my guess)
    tk

6. panhead_pete

panhead_pete
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

Thanks. So not many were used back in the day in rods?

7. F&J

F&J

402 came out in 70, but it's the same look as 396 that came in 65 vettes & just 200 65 chevelles. I'm sure someone used one in a rod by the late 60s, but they need multiple carbs to look better. Multiple carb manifolds are too pricey, plus the rest of the rod would need the late 60s look.

8. oktr6r

oktr6r
    from Tulsa

If you use it, might want to make sure the oil pump pick-up tube isn't loose. I knew a guy that had one drop off, and toasted the bearings before he knew what happened. He rebuilt it and used a new oil pump, the pick-up tube came loose a few days after he got it running. He caught it in time, dropped the oil pan and tack welded the pick-up tube in place.

Pretty strong stock engine, I heard rumors of 140+ mph in the '72 Chevy truck he was driving.

9. nexxussian

nexxussian

He could always put a blower on it.:D Or 4 Webbers, are Webbers any cheaper in Australia? I doubt it, but then I have never been, so:confused: