Register now to get rid of these ads!

235 chevy throttle linkage

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Bigtone, Feb 12, 2011.

  1. Bigtone
    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Posts:
    34
    Location:
    Indiana

    Bigtone Member

    Just installed a split manifold on my 235. Sweet looking manifold, but I've been every which way with the carb linkage and it always hits somewhere. Also, the bellcrank is VERY close to the rear dump. I'm to the point that I'd go with a cable set up for now if I could make it work. The problem is I 'm running a Rochester carb that the linkage needs to go up to open the throttle. Has anyone used a cable on a 235 chevy with this type of carb. Any help and any pics would be greatly valued.
  2. xderelict
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2006
    Posts:
    2,361
    Location:
    South Omaha

    xderelict Member

    Can you put up a picture? Can the hook up be clocked opposite on the throttle linkage.Example, if it points to 9 o'clock to push up can it be reversed to 3 o'clock to pull down.I've flipped and flopped the linkage to these one barrels to figure out the path of least resistance..
  3. Bigtone
    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Posts:
    34
    Location:
    Indiana

    Bigtone Member

    I'll have to look closer at that. Thanks for the thought.
  4. Barnfind 56
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Posts:
    190
    Location:
    Altoona, Iowa

    Barnfind 56 Member

    If you don't mind me asking, what brand manifold did you use? I am getting ready to purchase a Fenton and was wondering if I would run into this problem as well.
    Register now to get rid of these ads!

  5. 6inarow
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2007
    Posts:
    1,789
    Location:
    Hayward, South Dakota

    6inarow Member


    Patricks Fenton comes with all the linkage and fuel kit. You wont need anything.
  6. Paul
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2002
    Posts:
    12,195
    Location:
    Lahar Valley, WA

    Paul Editor

    ..on my Edmunds 2x2 with Stromberg BXOV-2 carbs and Fenton headers

    I whittled three arms out of brass and rebent and chopped the rod that runs up from the bellcrank

    bought some adjustable linkage ends to connect the arms to the carbs

    also moved the spring tab on the throttle rod to reposition the spring where it wouldn't rub on the exhaust


    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
  7. terd ferguson
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Posts:
    3,640
    Location:
    Concord, NC

    terd ferguson Member

    You can bend the standard linkage to make it work without binding anywhere. It just takes LOTS of patience. For what its worth, it took me about three hours of bend, fit, bind, bend again, fit, bind, bend again, etc..
  8. Bigtone
    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Posts:
    34
    Location:
    Indiana

    Bigtone Member

    Thanks guys. And Paul---that is sweet.
  9. DingDang
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    9
    Location:
    Fort Worth, TX

    DingDang Member

    I have an old Fenton intake with the "rod and bellcrank set up" similar to what Paul posted. I'm flirting with the idea of running a cable instead of the 1/4" bent rod. The rod pushes, but the cable set up would have to pull. I thik that there is room to flip the bellcrank that accepts the top part of the rod linkage 180 so that pulling on it would rotate the bellcranks to the throttle bodies up. I'm just not sure what pedal assembly and throttle cable would work best for this set up.

    It looks like everyone who has been down this road before just bent the 1?4" and made it work.

Share This Page

Register now to get rid of these ads!

Archive

Copyright © 1995-2013 The Jalopy Journal: Steal our stuff, we'll kick your teeth in. Terms of Service. Privacy Policy.

Atomic Industry
Forum software by XenForo™ ©2010-2014 XenForo Ltd.