Register now to get rid of these ads!

2 link vs. 4 link

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by 54LedSled, Sep 23, 2011.

1. 54LedSled

54LedSled

I know this question has probabley been asked before...but, What are the differences between a 2 link and a 4 link setup? I'm sure the major differences are support and driveability. But what about when the rear end is being bagged?

2. doctorZ

doctorZ

the other 2 links. duh ...

3. davidbistolas

davidbistolas

No seriously- I'm a noob on this. Who can answer this?

4. jipp

jipp

http://www.peteandjakes.com/Catalog3.aspx

read the pdf that loads up.. i think this explains it pretty good?
    4 bar stuff is on page 3.

shit sorry missed t he bagged part. i do not know jack shit, so ill shut up now and let someone with working experience chime in. sorry.
    chris.

5. mustang6147

mustang6147
    from Kent, Ohio

A 2 link is a leaf spring set up. Or also called a Hotchkis setup....Or a floating setup

A four link is common on coil overs or coil springs. Where you have to links at the top of the rear end and 2 at the bottom

4 links come in many styles, from race to stock application. Race app is ussually straight front to back, while stock has an out angle off the top of the rear end. It aids in smooth ride and comfort.

I hope this helps

6. Or what are commonly called "Truck Arms" as used in NASCAR and originally derived from 1960's Chevy Trucks. They use coils springs and are regularly used with Bags!

7. mustang6147

mustang6147
    from Kent, Ohio

Truck Arms, aka: a 3 link is used in NASCAR and other oval or round applications because it has no bind. Not common on the street though.

8. Truck arm suspensions have become very popular on the street over the past 10 years or so. There are companies that sell kits to install them in many applications and they do work quite well with bags.
    They are not what is known as a "3 Link" though (even though they have a Panhard bar).