Register now to get rid of these ads!

1960 Olds engine swap

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by 60olds98, Aug 10, 2011.

  1. 60olds98
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Posts:
    177
    Location:
    sometimes Deep 13, sometimes Lancaster, CA

    60olds98 Member

    I have the stock 394 engine and hydramatic trans in my '60 Olds. Would there be a lot of changes to make if I put a 350/350 in it? My engine needs work so I was wondering if I should change it to something that is easier to get parts for.
  2. chaddilac
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2006
    Posts:
    13,235
    Location:
    Muskogee,OK

    chaddilac Member

    Mounts, tranny mount, exhaust, wiring, drive shaft changes, Radiator outlet positions... uhm yea... I'm looking into the same thing with my 59 olds, I have a 455/400 that could go in but there's a ton of little work!!!!
  3. rustynewyorker
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2004
    Posts:
    15,921
    Location:
    Upstate New York, watching my New Yorker Rust

    rustynewyorker Member

    Unless the engine needs a complete rebuild, I don't know why you'd even consider this. Olds parts aren't that hard to come by, if you look a little.

    Can it be done? Yes. You need to scare up new mounts, a custom exhaust has to be done, and I forget if these X-frame cars run a carrier bearing, but the short section of the driveshaft may need to be modified.

    Frankly I'd sooner put an early Pontiac motor in it, since a 59-63 389 can be rebuilt with all the same stuff as a later 400, will bolt up to the existing trans, and because they won't bolt to newer transmissions without an adapter are usually cheap.
  4. Blackmaria60
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Posts:
    533
    Location:
    Columbus, Oh

    Blackmaria60 Member

    I'm going to keep my 394, it looks good in an Oldsmobile.
    Just getting ready to yank it for a rebuild!
    Register now to get rid of these ads!

  5. Blackmaria60
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Posts:
    533
    Location:
    Columbus, Oh

    Blackmaria60 Member

    No carrier...
    And mine is getting a "freshening up" I should say. Doesn't need a hardcore rebuild.
  6. GOATROPER02
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2006
    Posts:
    1,838
    Location:
    OHIO

    GOATROPER02
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

    I've got everything stock or speed that you could possibly need for your 394,no reason to hack it up

    Tony
  7. 60olds98
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Posts:
    177
    Location:
    sometimes Deep 13, sometimes Lancaster, CA

    60olds98 Member

    Thanks for the replies.
    chaddilac: You're right-alot of little work.
    rustynewyorker: I'm only considering this as an option but probably won't do it.
    blackmaria60: The 394 does look good. Maybe mine just needs a freshening up, too.
    goatroper02: I'll contact you when I figure out what I need.

Share This Page

Register now to get rid of these ads!

Archive

Copyright © 1995-2013 The Jalopy Journal: Steal our stuff, we'll kick your teeth in. Terms of Service. Privacy Policy.

Atomic Industry
Forum software by XenForo™ ©2010-2014 XenForo Ltd.