Register now to get rid of these ads!

Projects 1937 201 flathead six question

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Austin296, Apr 7, 2009.

1. Austin296

Austin296

I just bought a 1937 plymouth sedan with a 201 flathead in it. I am new to flatheads in general and i have been trying to read up on some ways to make this engine faster than the original rating of 85hp and around 140torque. I dont mind about sacrificing a few mpg, as long as i can get above 10 ill be happy. Any suggestions on how to give this engine a little more pep without spending a whole lot on it?

Austin

2. These engines benefit most from a compression increase, and that's also the most cost effective mod you can make. Remove the head and get a rebuilder to grind 60 or 70 thou. You can go to 90 thou, but it's better to stay safe with an engine that's not sparkling fresh. This will give a good noticeable power increase at all revs. Langdons sell an Offy twin carb manifold for around $230 or so, which will give some increase in higher rev performance, and a split exhaust is in the same league.
    Do a search on here for posts or threads by Blueskies, Bloody Knuckles or Don Coatney. These guys know plenty about these Mopars.
    There's a forum for Mopar flathead sixes at www.p15-d24.com which will give you any amount of info, also one at inliners international. There's a father and son team on those two forums called Hud and Hudsonator who possibly know more about hopping up these engines than anyone alive.

3. turbostude

turbostude
    from minnesota

Check out my website for some giggles on how I took a 169" Stude flatty and turbocharged it for $200 (TurboStude.com). Turbos are cheap and easy on the bottom end.

4. Austin296

Austin296

Thanks rockabillybassman, ill keep that in mind and ill check out that website and posts.