Register now to get rid of these ads!

Projects 1947 Flxible Clipper build

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by bingo66, Nov 10, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. bingo66

bingo66

Firstly, took me a while to figure out where to put this thread but hopefully I've found the right part of the forum!

I found this bus in the California desert (29Palms) just before it was going to be hauled off to the crusher.

This is my first project so perhaps I should have started with something a little smaller:)

The bus has been stood for about 40 years I think but is relatively rust free. It was changed to an RV in '68/ 69 when it came out of service and spent all of it's working life as a tourist bus around the National Parks so hasn't had a hard life at all.

Attached Files:

2. bingo66

bingo66

The Detroit Diesel was in pretty bad shape but was salvageable. All of the cooling system, brakes, fuel lines and almost everything else for that matter has either been replaced or rebuilt.

Attached Files:

3. bingo66

bingo66

The bus is now sandblasted, stripped and is ready for the first coat of primer.

Attached Files:

4. bingo66

bingo66

Found a few Bondo repairs so they have been cut out and replaced with metal:)

Thankfully, I'm not doing the bodywork myself. Far too much work involved:rolleyes:

Attached Files:

Last edited: Nov 10, 2013

5. bingo66

bingo66

Bodywork was in great shape for the age of this bus. Probably down to the California desert climate:)

Attached Files:

6. casper50

casper50
    from alaska

Nice but talk about huge round butt. lol One of her best features.

7. SwedishEinar

SwedishEinar

NICE!!

Posted using the Full Custom H.A.M.B. App!

8. Dexter The Dog

Dexter The Dog

I used to ride one of these things to and from school everyday in the 60's.
    I'll never forget the sound or the look of that thing pulling away from me on the side of the road after school...