Welcome to the THE H.A.M.B. forums.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Go Back   THE H.A.M.B. > To the Editors > Questions & Suggestions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-19-2004, 11:25 PM   #1
gege
Grenade Inspector
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: so cal & hawaii
Posts: 152
Default can a ford c4 trans work with no kickdown

gennie shifter, no kickdown connected, vac mod is hooked up.i think shifter is adjusted correctly? park,rev,neutralworks but no auto shift when in DRive but when pulled all way down it seems in first then when movig to next detent seems to go into second or third,not sure as when i move up to next detent it stays the same and feels like its winding out too much [have not checked my rear ratio yet]. if i put it in what i think is third detent it starts out in what may be second or third and does not run thru shifts automatically ? does kickdown need to be connected so it gives some kind of signal to shift correctly? ive been told no and maybe yesses! i have also had stories about some two speed c4s being out there?
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2004, 11:51 AM   #2
Pist-n-Broke
Old School HAMBer
 
Pist-n-Broke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Rust Country P.N.W.
Posts: 3,328
Default Re: can a ford c4 trans work with no kickdown

I've never heard of any 2 speed C-4's. Yes you do need the kick down rod. It's actually called a T.V. rod as in Throttle Valve which is what it controlls inside the valve body. For a more clear explanation talk to any trans rebuild shop. The bottom line is if it's basicly a stock box put it on.
The Wizzard
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2004, 01:13 PM   #3
fordiac
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Medina, Oh
Posts: 425
Default Re: can a ford c4 trans work with no kickdown

kickdowns on c-4 and c-6 transmissions are just that, kickdowns. you can run without them on these trannys, but the trans will not drop down a gear when you need to pass someone. these transmissions use the vacuum modulator system, which does need to be hooked up.

AOD on the other hand, uses a TV system, where the tranny shifts with the feedback from this, and severe damage will be caused in a very short period of time.

AOD absolutely has to be hooked to a TV cable.


next time, post this in the general discussion forum, and it will get more views, and more replies.
offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 01-21-2004, 12:31 AM   #4
macs55
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: sacramento, ca
Posts: 462
Default Re: can a ford c4 trans work with no kickdown

I've ran my tranny with no kickdown for years with no problem. My friend is a tranny guy and says that you don't need one and it won't do any damage not haveing one.
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2004, 12:58 AM   #5
**DONOTDELETE**
Old School HAMBer
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Posts: 3,318
Default Re: can a ford c4 trans work with no kickdown

THANKS FOR INFO, THE MORE I TALK TO PEOPLE THE MORE I GET INFO ABOUT HOW TOUCHY DIALING IN THE GENNIE SHIFTER IS RELATING TO POSITION I SET THE STICK THEN CHECKING EACH DETENT AND ADJUSTING THE TWO HEIMS AND THREADED ROD AND POSSIBLY HAVING TO MOVE THE GENNIE SHIFT ARM BY ITS SERATIONS TO GET A HAPPY MEDIAN OF ADJUSTMENT. WHEW !
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2004, 01:44 PM   #6
old beet
Old School HAMBer
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: smokey point wa.
Posts: 5,752
Default Re: can a ford c4 trans work with no kickdown

Are you sure you have vaccuum? Had the same problem with a C-6, turns out the vaccuum line was plugged.....OLDBEET
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2004, 11:50 PM   #7
gege
Grenade Inspector
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: so cal & hawaii
Posts: 152
Default Re: can a ford c4 trans work with no kickdown

i will be checking vac and other things this weekend so hopefully i can put something in the 'what did you accomplish this weekend' on hamb ha ha.
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2004, 05:05 PM   #8
Reggie
Alliance Member
 
Reggie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Round Rock, Tx (Suburb of Austin)
Posts: 1,689
Default Re: can a ford c4 trans work with no kickdown

I've done losts of C4s. It sound like either no vac or a bad vac modulator.

Also, the kickdown lever could be stuck in the kickdown position. Make sure that the shifter linkage is not inadvertantly binding up against the kickdown lever at the transmission.
Good luck!!
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2004, 08:46 PM   #9
gege
Grenade Inspector
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: so cal & hawaii
Posts: 152
Default Re: can a ford c4 trans work with no kickdown

two good points,i will work on those and inform what happened,thanks, i did do a fine toon on shift linkage rod by a few threads but have not driven yet but cant imagine that would of been a problem, maybe your ideas will solve?
this by the way is my resto of surfer joe barnetts t touring with the new drivetrain that dan woods did in the early 70s
offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:45 AM.