Register now to get rid of these ads!

Noob Flathead build

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Bronze, Feb 11, 2013.

1. Bronze

Bronze
    from Parma

I'm new to the HAMB. Picked up a 59A and thought I'd document it here, cause I'm gonna have a lot of questions.

Wrenching the studs out.
    [​IMG]

Removing the valve train. That was FUN...
    [​IMG]

Finally empty. Now to check for cracks.
    [​IMG]

what are these?
    [​IMG]

2. D ROD

D ROD
    from New Jersey

3. bk53

bk53
    from Rowlett Tx

subscribed. lots of good info around. good luck

4. Ole don

Ole don

Square screws below exhaust ports are water drains. I put petcocks in those holes.

5. Bronze

Bronze
    from Parma

Thanks.

6. Bronze

Bronze
    from Parma

If anyone knows of a Flathead friendly machine shop in the Cleveland area, please let me know. Found a place that will clean and magnaflux, but need someone who has the plates and fittings to pressure test, and knows Flatheads for other work.

7. Bronze

Bronze
    from Parma

JUNK.

[​IMG]

Last edited: Mar 9, 2013
  8. So-Cal Speed Sacramento

So-Cal Speed Sacramento
    Alliance Vendor
    from Sacramento

yikes! that's a pretty decent crack too- pretty common for the flatheads though. i'd say about 75% of the blocks we find are cracked.

9. Bronze

Bronze
    from Parma

Another try...

[​IMG]

10. 40FordGuy

40FordGuy

Here's to finding a good one; Check with the local antique car guys in the area, and ask which machine shop they trust with their relics.

4TTRUK

11. Bronze

Bronze
    from Parma

Went Hillbilly Flathead Fishing in Ohio this week. Maybe out of these four I'll have one that isn't cracked.

[​IMG]

This ones a 51 Merc:

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

One of them is a 99 block. I've read about the 99 blocks, but I thought they were all early 40s with the integral bellhousing, but this one does not have the integral bellhousing:

[​IMG]

Last edited: Mar 19, 2013