Register now to get rid of these ads!

I need help from PPG paint experts

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by usmile4, Nov 8, 2012.

1. usmile4

usmile4

I'm a real novice in this old car stuff. I've learned by doing in rust repair, body work, and now painting. Mostly it is by trial and lots of error.

My painter is coming in Sunday to finish painting my 51. I've used PPG DP50LF as a sealer but the "dust gremlins" seem to arrive after I've left the shop :eek: and I get some dust nibs. Today I fixed a couple of runs and the worst of the dust but I figure tomorrow I will have some more dust even though I have cleaned and wet everything down numerous times.

What should I do before the BC/CC is put on Sunday especially if I do have more dust in this last DP50?

2. slddnmatt

slddnmatt

wet everything down, tack cloth the car and spray.. if your doing the DP as a seal coat, pretty much have to treat it like the first coat of paint..if you have a fan that can gently suck the overspray away from the car that will help..base coat dries relativley quick, so once you lay that down and the first coat flashes, I sometimes will tack cloth it between coats and always before the clear is shot. once you shoot the first coat of clear do a walk around and look for debris. if there are some get it out after each coat, tweasers or a needle work wonders..

3. afaulk

afaulk

A problem that a lot of people don't think about is static electricity. It attracts dust to whatever item you've just finished rubbing on. Like some old timers you can use a ground strap, not a bad idea but I ALWAYS spray a light (mist) coat of isopropyl alcohol before painting. Then a final very light tack and spray away. Also clothing and hair can be a source of dust. Bottom line, theres no substitute for wet sanding and buffing. People ask how I got a car so slick. I tell them I'm not a very good painter but I've worn out a bunch of buffers.......... Good luck!

4. usmile4

usmile4