Register now to get rid of these ads!

Technical CHASSIS, Assembling a '40 Ford rear axle

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by the-rodster, Jul 5, 2005.

1. the-rodster

the-rodster

First, I'm no expert, and this is my first time setting up a banjo rear.
    Second, most of these instructions are based on an existing article at Flatheaders Online (http://www.btc-bci.com/~billben/rearend.htm).

I decided to swap axle housings on my '40 rear to get the spring perches in front of the axle, and while I was at it, check out what the bearings and gears looked like. I did end up replacing a carrier bearing and race, but everything else looked OK, so now it's time to reassemble the rear. This post just deals with trying to setup the diff correctly.

There are three things to keep in mind during assembly.
    1. Carrier bearing preload.
    2. Pinion bearing preload.
    3. Ring Gear/Pinion backlash.

Carrier bearing preload is established by the total thickness of gaskets on each side of the banjo center. You want the total gasket thickness to provide a snug fit of the bearings in their races.
    The best way to get a starting reference for the total gasket thickness is by stacking the axle housings vertically, without gaskets, and measure the gap that will need filling. To do this, bolt the right axle housing securely to the banjo center. Stand the housing vertically, with the banjo facing upward. Now slide the axle assembly into the right axle housing and center, then slide the left axle housing over the axle assembly. Make sure the top axle housing is seated by rotating it back and forth. You should see a small gap between the top axle housing and the banjo center. Use a feeler gauge to measure this gap.

rear1.JPG