Welcome to the THE H.A.M.B. forums.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Go Back   THE H.A.M.B. > General Discussion > The Hokey Ass Message Board

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-10-2011, 07:13 PM   #1
pie pie
Member
 
pie pie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: missouri
Posts: 641
Default Coil for duraspark 2

Is there any special coil needed for a duraspark ignition? I'm making my own harness so I dont want to use the factory big plug on the coils.
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2011, 05:13 PM   #2
pie pie
Member
 
pie pie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: missouri
Posts: 641
Default

What's the difference? I notice the msd is the same for duraspark just has the plug instead of screw terminals
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2011, 05:49 PM   #3
hotroddon
Old School HAMBer
 
hotroddon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orange, So Cal
Posts: 11,474
Default Re: Coil for duraspark 2

In stock application the ignition had a resistance wire of 1.25-1.35 ohm resistance. The Duraspark II coils had an internal resistance of around 1.17 ohm.
You can use any aftermarket coil that is between 1.0 and 1.5 ohm and you shouldn't have any problems. Along with that a 1.0 to 1.5 ohm ballast resistor should be used in the run side of the ignition, with no resistor on the start side.

I know guys hat have run without the ballast resistor without any problems but I'm not sure what the long term effect will be. Additionally I know a guy who has run one with a 3 ohm coil and no resistor for years and it works fine, but is a little harder starting than it should be.
__________________
As I hurtled through space, one thought kept crossing my mind
every part of this rocket was supplied by the lowest bidder. ~ John Glenn

offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 01-11-2011, 06:21 PM   #4
64Cyclone
Senior Member
 
64Cyclone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Clarksville, Tn
Posts: 1,512
Default Re: Coil for duraspark 2

Correct me if I'm wrong here, but an aftermarket 12v coil and a 12v supply are recommended. With most points style cars you only have 6-8v going to the coil.

I've been told the easiest way to get 12v to the aftermarket coil is to use the original wire (+) to kick a Bendix style relay that will send 12v from the battery (with an inline 20a maxi fuse) to the coil.

I'm trying to get this down pat myself and here's my cheeseball plan...I hope it's right.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	auxpower1a.jpg
Views:	240
Size:	58.9 KB
ID:	1205598  
__________________
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2011, 06:49 PM   #5
pie pie
Member
 
pie pie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: missouri
Posts: 641
Default

So really any coil will work? I may just run a blaster 2
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2011, 06:49 PM   #6
hotroddon
Old School HAMBer
 
hotroddon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orange, So Cal
Posts: 11,474
Default Re: Coil for duraspark 2

Your idea will work but you are overthinking it. In the stock application duraspark II had a resisatnce wire so there is no reason to by pass it. As for the full 12v for starting, you can pull that off the IGN terminal on the starter relay. The white wire, which is the retard is not really necessary and in fact some years don't even have it. If it seems that the starter motor is laboring, then hook it up on to the IGN termianl as well.
__________________
As I hurtled through space, one thought kept crossing my mind
every part of this rocket was supplied by the lowest bidder. ~ John Glenn

offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2011, 06:53 PM   #7
hotroddon
Old School HAMBer
 
hotroddon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orange, So Cal
Posts: 11,474
Default Re: Coil for duraspark 2

Quote:
Originally Posted by pie pie View Post
So really any coil will work? I may just run a blaster 2
Blaster II is only .7 ohms, a little low, but I think it will work OK. You can also use PerTronix Flame Thrower 40001 (chrome) or 40011 (Black) which are 1.5 ohm
__________________
As I hurtled through space, one thought kept crossing my mind
every part of this rocket was supplied by the lowest bidder. ~ John Glenn

offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2011, 07:34 PM   #8
64Cyclone
Senior Member
 
64Cyclone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Clarksville, Tn
Posts: 1,512
Default Re: Coil for duraspark 2

As usual, I'm confused again. I thought that the old "points" coil supply wouldn't provide the correct power to the coil for DS?? I swear I've heard 20 different opinions on how to hook DS up...I'm about ready to say screw it and order Pertronix ign.
__________________
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2011, 08:18 PM   #9
Mike Miller
Alliance Member
 
Mike Miller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: LaPine Oregon
Posts: 1,721
Default Re: Coil for duraspark 2

__________________
Plan ahead, that way you don't have to do anything right now.
H.A.M.B v8-60 Social Group.
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2011, 08:23 PM   #10
gas pumper
Old School HAMBer
 
gas pumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Boonton, NJ
Posts: 2,772
Default Re: Coil for duraspark 2

I've run the duraspark dist on two engines with blaster coils with the 10-32 threads and nuts. No ballast resistor and no problems. Later, on both engines I substituted an MSD box for the dura-spark box. direct replacement. No resistor. On one of them the MSD got flooded and died. went back to the Dura-spark box.

On one of them I needed to add a diode on the alternator excitement wire to be able to shut the engine off. Delco Alternator. Feedback from Alt to ignition.
__________________
BLASTERS&BEER

CREW: 608 AA/GL
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2011, 11:12 PM   #11
pie pie
Member
 
pie pie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: missouri
Posts: 641
Default Re: Coil for duraspark 2

ok i guess i need to do some more research on the duraspark set up. im getting ready to buy all the parts for this set up. i will have a new reman dist. , new ignition box, small wide male cap and new plugs and wires, just have to get the coil part figured out. we keep msd or accel at work but im not a fan of accel. or stockers.
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2011, 10:12 AM   #12
pie pie
Member
 
pie pie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: missouri
Posts: 641
Default Re: Coil for duraspark 2

Quote:
Originally Posted by hotroddon View Post
Blaster II is only .7 ohms, a little low, but I think it will work OK. You can also use PerTronix Flame Thrower 40001 (chrome) or 40011 (Black) which are 1.5 ohm
what about the accel superstock coils? i keep those on the shelf at work. any luck with those?
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2011, 03:55 PM   #13
hotroddon
Old School HAMBer
 
hotroddon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orange, So Cal
Posts: 11,474
Default Re: Coil for duraspark 2

Quote:
Originally Posted by pie pie View Post
what about the accel superstock coils? i keep those on the shelf at work. any luck with those?
They make two versions -a 1.4 ohm and a .7 ohm. the 1.4 should work fine
__________________
As I hurtled through space, one thought kept crossing my mind
every part of this rocket was supplied by the lowest bidder. ~ John Glenn

offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2011, 03:59 PM   #14
pie pie
Member
 
pie pie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: missouri
Posts: 641
Default

And I need to run a resistor with either coil?
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2013, 05:44 PM   #15
chappychapperton
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Red Deer, Canada
Posts: 55
Default Re: Coil for duraspark 2

Quote:
Originally Posted by pie pie View Post
And I need to run a resistor with either coil?
ever figure out what is needed? I have same issue.
__________________
offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:59 AM.