Welcome to the THE H.A.M.B. forums.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Go Back   THE H.A.M.B. > General Discussion > The Hokey Ass Message Board

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-11-2010, 10:44 PM   #1
baker53
Grenade Inspector
 
baker53's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Spring, TX USA
Posts: 184
Default 700R4 speedometer output question

I have a 700R4 transmission with a pulse generator output for the speedometer and would like to convert it to a mechanical output to drive the mechanical speedometer in a 53 Ford. Any guru's out there know if the the electrical components on the 700R4's output shaft can be changed over to a plastic drive gear and what output shaft housing might be available to house a plastic drive gear gear assembly. Thanks, Bill, Spring, TX
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2010, 11:22 PM   #2
Mr4Speed
Newbie
 
Mr4Speed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 86
Default Re: 700R4 speedometer output question

When you take the extension housing of you will need a puller to remove the reluctor wheel of the output shaft and slide a plastic gear on that is held in place with a clip.
There are two holes for the clip in the output shaft one is for Corvette's only.
A new extension housing isn't needed.

To calculate wich gears you need you need to know your axle ratio and tire size
Only when you know wich gears you need you can buy a gear housing because one fits the 34-39 gears and the other 40 to 43 teeth gears.
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2010, 11:23 PM   #3
Tripple G
Grenade Inspector
 
Tripple G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: New Philadelphia, OH
Posts: 367
Default Re: 700R4 speedometer output question

I would suggest you contact the guys @Gearstar in Akron, Ohio. If anyone can answer transmission questions, they can. Sorry I don't have their phone number handy, but they advertise in Rod & Custom, Street Roder, Hot Rod, GoodGuys Gazzette, etc. Bought my 700R4 from Patrick, very helpful. Good Luck!
offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 12-11-2010, 11:32 PM   #4
dbradley
Senior Member
 
dbradley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Sapulpa, OK
Posts: 1,038
Default Re: 700R4 speedometer output question

Here's a how to with pics, calculator and all the info....

http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...d.php?t=322481
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2010, 11:35 PM   #5
scottybaccus
Old School HAMBer
 
scottybaccus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Hutto, Texas
Posts: 4,197
Default Re: 700R4 speedometer output question

It's pretty straight forward. You need the speedo drive plug to accept the driven gear and cable from an early to mid '80s 700R4 vehicle. Then you can pull or cut off the reluctor wheel. There should be a hole in the output shaft for the drive gear retainer clip. If not, drill one. You may find the right location on Google or ask a transmission shop to let you measure one. Push the gear on with the clip and make sure it fits pretty tight. Some shafts not meant to have a drive gear will be a little loose. You can sleeve the gear with a strip cut from an aluminum can or sacrifice a feeler gauge.

Or.... just read dbradley's link....
__________________
Shooting down dumb asses one S-10 frame swap at a time...

Tejas Malcontents, Hutto


offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2010, 08:16 AM   #6
325w
Alliance Member
 
325w's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: texas
Posts: 3,545
Default Re: 700R4 speedometer output question

We buy the parts at the local chevy dealer. had to borrow the puller from a trans shop.
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2010, 09:26 AM   #7
baker53
Grenade Inspector
 
baker53's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Spring, TX USA
Posts: 184
Default Re: 700R4 speedometer output question

Thanks so much for the great info and assistance. I am looking forward to getting the 700R installed and having the overdrive capability. One other question relating the lock-up converter. How do you handle this? I presume a manual switch, but your thoughts would be most appreciated. Thanks again. Bill, Spring, TX
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2010, 10:07 AM   #8
Weasel
Old School HAMBer
 
Weasel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: At my keyboard
Posts: 6,613
Default Re: 700R4 speedometer output question

On the lockup converter I have used aboth a manual switch and the electronic unit from www.bowlertransmissions.com

__________________
Procrastinate NOW!
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2010, 10:36 AM   #9
baker53
Grenade Inspector
 
baker53's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Spring, TX USA
Posts: 184
Default Re: 700R4 speedometer output question

Thanks Weasel, I will check that option out. Bill, Spring, TX
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2010, 02:28 PM   #10
potshot
Newbie
 
potshot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: MT
Posts: 50
Default Re: 700R4 speedometer output question

Hi,

I think you may discover that when you pull the tone ring off your output shaft, that you won't have the small hole needed for the plastic speedo gear retaining clip. To drill the hole, I suspect you'll need a carbide bit.
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2010, 02:32 PM   #11
Mr4Speed
Newbie
 
Mr4Speed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 86
Default Re: 700R4 speedometer output question

Here are two threads i know of about lock-up methods.

http://www.jalopyjournal.com/forum/s...8785&showall=1

http://www.jalopyjournal.com/forum/s...ighlight=700r4
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2010, 02:36 PM   #12
Mr4Speed
Newbie
 
Mr4Speed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 86
Default Re: 700R4 speedometer output question

Quote:
Originally Posted by potshot View Post
Hi,

I think you may discover that when you pull the tone ring off your output shaft, that you won't have the small hole needed for the plastic speedo gear retaining clip. To drill the hole, I suspect you'll need a carbide bit.
I think this only apply's to 4l60E output shafts. I have never seen a th700(4l60) output shaft that isn't drilled!
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2010, 03:22 PM   #13
baker53
Grenade Inspector
 
baker53's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Spring, TX USA
Posts: 184
Default Re: 700R4 speedometer output question

Thanks potshot & Mr4Speed, I pulled the reluctor gear off the output shaft and the shaft has two holes drilled in it. I am going to transmission shop in the morning and see if I can pick up the clip for the drive gear and the driven gear housing. I have a 400TH driven gear housing, but it has an O.D. that is smaller than the 700R. Do you know if the various 400TH drive and driven gears will work in the 700R? I have quite an assortment of those gears.
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2010, 05:58 PM   #14
Mr4Speed
Newbie
 
Mr4Speed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 86
Default Re: 700R4 speedometer output question

The gears of a th400 are not the same.
If you have one you could use the gears and housing from a th350 with a BOP case (Buick, Olds, Pontiac). if of course the ratio is correct.
For a Corvette transmission (extension housing) you put the clip in the rearward hole and all others use the forward hole.
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2010, 07:23 PM   #15
drptop70ss
Member
 
drptop70ss's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: NY
Posts: 815
Default Re: 700R4 speedometer output question

what year trans? I just converted an 87 700r4 to mechanical drive by replacing the speedo output housing with a mechanical gear and removed the VSS housing. Already had the drive gear on the output shaft,it was not a reluctor style setup..I thought all up to 1992 were this way?
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2010, 07:46 PM   #16
baker53
Grenade Inspector
 
baker53's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Spring, TX USA
Posts: 184
Default Re: 700R4 speedometer output question

Mr4Speed: Thanks for the info on the 350Th BOP assy. I guess when I sell my TH400, the buyer will get a tub of drive & driven gears.

drptop70ss: I'm not sure what year my 700R4 is, but it had the reluctor on the output shaft. Hopefully, the transmission shop will have the parts I need to convert it over to mechanical output.
offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:02 PM.