Welcome to the THE H.A.M.B. forums.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Go Back   THE H.A.M.B. > General Discussion > The Hokey Ass Message Board

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-24-2010, 04:20 PM   #1
41 Ford pick-up
Grenade Inspector
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: NE Pa
Posts: 209
Default Chevy 283 engine to a 350 Turbo trans

I have a 1960 Chevy 283 engine and want to put a 350 turbo trans to it--but will not bolt up to engine bell housing have a 1 1/2 '' space between engine and trans---flywheel and flexplate-( small 13'' flywheel) hits--also what year starter to use-stagger bolt pattern---looking for person who has this combination and what did they do--Thanks
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2010, 04:27 PM   #2
OLIVER BROS GARAGE
Old School HAMBer
 
OLIVER BROS GARAGE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Des Moines, Iowa
Posts: 7,231
Default Re: Chevy 283 engine to a 350 Turbo trans

As long as you have "NOTHING" bolted on to the back of the block a 350/400 turbo trans "WILL" bolt right up!
__________________
Viva Las Vegas
or Bust
April 2014

offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2010, 04:31 PM   #3
cvstl
Alliance Member
 
cvstl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: StL MO
Posts: 617
Default Re: Chevy 283 engine to a 350 Turbo trans

Take the flywheel off and bolt flex plate on.....
__________________
H.A.M.B. CHAPEL

CROSS MEMBERS CC

HOTRODHUNDRED.com .... cars are meant for driving!!
offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 11-24-2010, 05:14 PM   #4
gonejunking
Newbie
 
gonejunking's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: NW USA
Posts: 50
Default Re: Chevy 283 engine to a 350 Turbo trans

is the torque converter all the way into the tranny?
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2010, 05:28 PM   #5
plymouth1952
Senior Member
 
plymouth1952's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Grants Pass Ore
Posts: 2,196
Default Re: Chevy 283 engine to a 350 Turbo trans

Quote:
Originally Posted by OLIVER BROS GARAGE View Post
As long as you have "NOTHING" bolted on to the back of the block a 350/400 turbo trans "WILL" bolt right up!
what he said I did this back in 78 worked well
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2010, 05:37 PM   #6
squirrel
Old School HAMBer
 
squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Sierra Vista AZ
Posts: 24,721
Default Re: Chevy 283 engine to a 350 Turbo trans

Quote:
Originally Posted by 41 Ford pick-up View Post
flywheel and flexplate-( small 13'' flywheel) hits--
use one or the other...flywheel for standard trans, flexplate for automatic. not both.

63-80something starter should work, ask for one for a 307 engine from about 1970 with the th350 trans in a midsize car (chevelle/nova)
__________________
Jim Forbes
.
my shtuff
.
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2010, 05:39 PM   #7
onedge
Alliance Member
 
onedge's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: cream ridge
Posts: 989
Default Re: Chevy 283 engine to a 350 Turbo trans

no flywheel. flexplate with atuo tranny .
__________________
"TOO MUCH BOOGIE WOOGIE"

offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2010, 05:46 PM   #8
Desoto291Hemi
Grenade Inspector
 
Desoto291Hemi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Carthage , Tennessee
Posts: 353
Default Re: Chevy 283 engine to a 350 Turbo trans

You are using a Chevy 350 tranny ,, Right?
Should bolt directly to the block.

Tommy
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2010, 05:58 PM   #9
ryno
Old School HAMBer
 
ryno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: carl junction mo.
Posts: 3,285
Default Re: Chevy 283 engine to a 350 Turbo trans

did you remove the stock adapter that was used from the factory on your then power glide?
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2010, 06:07 PM   #10
40Standard
Old School HAMBer
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Indy
Posts: 5,023
Default Re: Chevy 283 engine to a 350 Turbo trans

it's a natural fit. 350 turbo to a 283
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2010, 06:09 PM   #11
Lobucrod
Alliance Member
 
Lobucrod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Springtown, Tx
Posts: 3,896
Default Re: Chevy 283 engine to a 350 Turbo trans

IT will bolt right up. Sounds like the torque convertor is not all the way in. You might have to use the larger diameter flywheel cause not all the 283 blocks have one of the correct holes for the starter housing that works with the small flywheel. Before installing the tranny make sure you have the starter/flywheel combo worked out.
__________________
Makin it Git with Old Shit
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2010, 06:16 PM   #12
61 chevy
Member
 
61 chevy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: north carolina
Posts: 884
Default Re: Chevy 283 engine to a 350 Turbo trans

use flexplate only with auto trans, you do know that dont you?
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2010, 06:31 PM   #13
SLAMIT
Member
 
SLAMIT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Back In Santa Cruz
Posts: 884
Default Re: Chevy 283 engine to a 350 Turbo trans

or check and make sure you dont have a BOP trans. but it sounds like you have some ohter issues. follow the advice the others have given and you sound be OK.
__________________
http://www.myspace.com/atomicbrothersphotography
No matter where you go. There you are!
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2010, 06:39 PM   #14
propwash
Alliance Member
 
propwash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 3,860
Default Re: Chevy 283 engine to a 350 Turbo trans

why do you have a 13" flywheel in this assembly? and where did the 1" spacer come from? You make it trying solve the problem? You must have some seriously long crank flange bolts to keep the flex plate AND flywheel in there.

dj
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2010, 07:04 PM   #15
55chevr
Member
 
55chevr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 738
Default Re: Chevy 283 engine to a 350 Turbo trans

sounds like an Olds or Pontiac trans ... photo please
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2010, 07:14 PM   #16
dirtracer06
Grenade Inspector
 
dirtracer06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Sioux Falls SD
Posts: 124
Default Re: Chevy 283 engine to a 350 Turbo trans

Pilot bushing left in the end of the crank, not allowing the input shaft of the tranny to slide into the crankshaft ?
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2010, 07:24 PM   #17
55 dude
Old School HAMBer
 
55 dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Wa. "The Wet Side"!
Posts: 7,701
Default Re: Chevy 283 engine to a 350 Turbo trans

pictures help dude!
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2010, 07:29 PM   #18
OLIVER BROS GARAGE
Old School HAMBer
 
OLIVER BROS GARAGE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Des Moines, Iowa
Posts: 7,231
Default Re: Chevy 283 engine to a 350 Turbo trans

Quote:
Originally Posted by dirtracer06 View Post
Pilot bushing left in the end of the crank, not allowing the input shaft of the tranny to slide into the crankshaft ?
Not on an automatic!
__________________
Viva Las Vegas
or Bust
April 2014

offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2010, 08:31 PM   #19
dirtracer06
Grenade Inspector
 
dirtracer06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Sioux Falls SD
Posts: 124
Default Re: Chevy 283 engine to a 350 Turbo trans

So did ya finger it out ?
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2010, 08:36 PM   #20
1939STREETROD
Grenade Inspector
 
1939STREETROD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: binghamton ny
Posts: 244
Default Re: Chevy 283 engine to a 350 Turbo trans

Remove the adapter plate for the powerglide trans!!!!
offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:14 AM.