Register now to get rid of these ads!

Eastwood instead of HF

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by grf-x, Aug 30, 2010.

1. grf-x

grf-x

I know a lot of folks get sand in their nether regions when you mentioned harbor freight. and I know that Covell thinks that there doesn't seem to be anything wrong with them...

However... I didn't find anything here on Eastwood. Has anyone had any experience using their planishing hammers, english wheels, or bead rollers?

I am just starting out and I have my hand tools, but would like to step up a little with out remortgaging the house.

Any thoughts?

2. Better do a search
    This has been covered a bunch

3. 1/2done

1/2done
    from Ohio

Don't waste your time on their english wheel. You can build a much better wheel for not much more money. I got my upper wheel and anvils from Hoosier Pattern and built the frame and adjuster. I have ~$1200 give or take. A commercial wheel this size would be $3k+.

[​IMG]

You can find more info here: http://www.allmetalshaping.com/index.php

4. scootermcrad

scootermcrad
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

I have one of their English wheels here in the shop. The dies are nice, but need polishing, the lower tension device sucks ass, and the frame needs reinforcing. The frame has since been reinforced and dies polished, but the lower portion still has to be addressed. Probably going to cut off the lower tension/adjuster and redo it. It works okay for now, but has a difficult time staying in a set place without disabling the quick-drop release to change dies.

Not sure on the rest of their stuff.

5. grf-x

grf-x

Yeah I have seen some of your post on the subject. To me, your english wheel is like me buying/building an tank. It can handling it all, but it is quite an investing for someone trying to get his feet wet. Now what i mean? Plus i am learning to weld as well. I don't trust my welding for that. LOL

I do appreciate the advice. Thanks.

6. grf-x

grf-x