Register now to get rid of these ads!

Rod shop rates

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by jleblanc31, Jun 16, 2010.

1. jleblanc31

jleblanc31

What are you paying in hourly rates out there. I have been asked to be a mechanic for a Model A club. The person that asked said these guys don't mind paying because they just cant do the work any more. This particuler person called my craigs list auto service add I charged $35 hour. Am I cutting my self short? Im ASE certified and Have over 17 years in the Mechanic and auto body field.

2. Hal_396

Hal_396

If your working out of your own garage it is a fair price in my opinion.

3. Anderson

Anderson

That is cheap for a "shop" but if you are working out of your garage by yourself, then thats probably pretty fair.

4. gtkane

gtkane

I don't think you are cutting yourself short.

I have been a tech for 22 years, and liscenced for the last 14. I generally charge $40cdn for my labour out of my own shop(so that would be on-par with your $35 ).

I do cut myself short when it comes to working on rods, though....usually about half that, but just because I enjoy it.

5. falconsprint63

falconsprint63
    from Mayberry

I charged $35/hr when I ran my shop, and that's still my going rate for side work. Lots of shops (particularly with higher overhead) are in the $60-$100 range. I work straight time plus parts and materials when doing rod work.

6. $35 is pretty good for low overhead and just working for wages. My friend who owns a busy shop is getting $86 per hour. Can't price yourself out of business!

Bob

7. gimpyshotrods

gimpyshotrods
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

Wow, I guess the cost of living is just higher here. I charge $85/hr. these days.

8. 63FalconFutura

63FalconFutura
    from Socal

guys i know charge 80$ for general and 120$ for fab work

9. low springs

low springs
    from Long Beach

$84 metal/fab _____ $64 body/paint

10. Steves32

Steves32
    from So Cal