Welcome to the THE H.A.M.B. forums.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Go Back   THE H.A.M.B. > General Discussion > The Hokey Ass Message Board

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-10-2010, 05:09 PM   #1
greaseball
Member
 
greaseball's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: "Not Applicable", but if ya see me, say Hi!
Posts: 840
Default Wiring a universal key-switch?

Hey, I searched a little and all the answers I found were WAAAAYYY off, so here's the situation-

The stock ignition I'm replacing has 3 wires. Black/red, black/yellow, black white.
I'm ASSuming this is constant power(BAT), key power(IGN), and ground(?) (UNLABELED).

On my "universal key switch" I have 4 location options.
BAT, IGN, ACC (<-- won't be using that one) and the 4th and center post is UNLABELED.

I'm GUESSING that the black/red is constant, the black/yellow is keyed and the black/white goes to the unlabeled.

Using a multi-meter, can someone tell me how to test these theories?

Many thanks!!!
__________________
Hank Williams 1, 2 or 3. Your choice.

Last edited by greaseball; 04-10-2010 at 08:16 PM.
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2010, 05:34 PM   #2
345 DeSoto
Senior Member
 
345 DeSoto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Summer Skaneateles,NY/Winter Port St.Lucie, FL
Posts: 2,163
Default Re: Wiring a universal key-switch?

One of them HAS to be to the "Solenoid/Starter"...usually the center one...
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2010, 06:32 PM   #3
VirgilHilts
Senior Member
 
VirgilHilts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: A town called Malice, Ontario Canada
Posts: 2,315
Default Re: Wiring a universal key-switch?

Put the meter on ohms or better if it has a continuity beeper use that if not 0 ohms will mean you are getting a connection ( dead short = 0 ohms).

Put the key in don't turn it. Attach one of the leads to the first pin on the switch (whichever you want just keep track of which one). Then test each other pin AND the metal body of the switch. You should probably get no beep.

Now repeat that procedure for each position of the switch, crank,run,acc. ( you may want an extra set of hands or have this clamped to something if it is not installed)

Note which pins give you a beep or 0 ohms and in what position.

Now move the lead to the next pin and repeat this whole procedure. Then the next pin and the next. Again noting the connections.

There will be some redundancy with this method but it's a bit hard to type it all out and not seeing the switch doesn't help so for the sake of thoroughness!

Many people assume these switches are simple one pole deals and that power shows up at one terminal in certain positions etc. But often they are a multi connection switch and often one of the pins goes to ground in crank to act as a brake bulb test, hence me mentioning testing to the switch body too.

The one you need to look for is the pin that makes a connection when on crank AND ignition AND accy position. That would be the Voltage IN terminal. The rest will connect to it when in their respective key positions and thus you'll know what their functions are.
__________________
Stu

“I really admire qualities in others that I don’t possess. Subtlety being one…”
offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 04-10-2010, 06:58 PM   #4
N8B
Member
 
N8B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: The fastest place on earth
Posts: 505
Default Re: Wiring a universal key-switch?

What kind of car are you dealing with? I am sure one of us may have a wiring diagram handy to tell you exactly what each is.
__________________
Halibrand Social Group


Flat Black Industries - Hot rod T shirts.

B and B Speed
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2010, 06:58 PM   #5
nico32
Member
 
nico32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: fdl, wi
Posts: 733
Default Re: Wiring a universal key-switch?

Agreed with both statements above, one has to be for the starter. Best to put a tester on it and verify what is what.
__________________
The future is unwritten - Joe Strummer
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2010, 08:05 PM   #6
greaseball
Member
 
greaseball's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: "Not Applicable", but if ya see me, say Hi!
Posts: 840
Default Re: Wiring a universal key-switch?

Cool, thanks guys!

* VirgilHilts= NAILED IT! Thanks man!

* N8B= The rides kind of "off-topic" actually....
(*SUPERSECRETSTRUCTURE* and all that, don't want to get anyone upset talking about an "off-topic" ride)


I just noticed the stock switch IS in fact "labeled".
IG, ST, ACC, AM

So I'm guessing the IG goes to the IGN, the ACC post was never connected, and now that just leaves the ST and AM, anyone care to guess what those abbreviations stand for?
__________________
Hank Williams 1, 2 or 3. Your choice.
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2010, 08:21 PM   #7
VirgilHilts
Senior Member
 
VirgilHilts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: A town called Malice, Ontario Canada
Posts: 2,315
Default Re: Wiring a universal key-switch?

DeVry grad. Better be good for something!


ST = start (AKA crank)

AM is a stumper. That's the one I figured was a bulb prove out.
__________________
Stu

“I really admire qualities in others that I don’t possess. Subtlety being one…”
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2010, 08:31 PM   #8
N8B
Member
 
N8B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: The fastest place on earth
Posts: 505
Default Re: Wiring a universal key-switch?

Quote:
Originally Posted by greaseball View Post
Cool, thanks guys!

* VirgilHilts= NAILED IT! Thanks man!

* N8B= The rides kind of "off-topic" actually....
(*SUPERSECRETSTRUCTURE* and all that, don't want to get anyone upset talking about an "off-topic" ride)


I just noticed the stock switch IS in fact "labeled".
IG, ST, ACC, AM

So I'm guessing the IG goes to the IGN, the ACC post was never connected, and now that just leaves the ST and AM, anyone care to guess what those abbreviations stand for?
Auxiliary (something or other?)
Crazy question, does your car have an ampmeter?
__________________
Halibrand Social Group


Flat Black Industries - Hot rod T shirts.

B and B Speed
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2010, 03:03 AM   #9
Commish
Grenade Inspector
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: NW Ok
Posts: 341
Default Re: Wiring a universal key-switch?

Since you don't list one labeled Bat., I would say it pulled it's battery power from the amp gauge on the original installation .
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2010, 06:51 AM   #10
345 DeSoto
Senior Member
 
345 DeSoto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Summer Skaneateles,NY/Winter Port St.Lucie, FL
Posts: 2,163
Default Re: Wiring a universal key-switch?

Bet that's it...
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2010, 08:51 AM   #11
LastChance
Newbie
 
LastChance's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Ardmore AL/TN
Posts: 58
Default Re: Wiring a universal key-switch?

The switch ground itself to the dash when you mount it, so you do not have to worry about grounding the switch(its not really needed). Make sure you have good ground on the frame, body, and engine, it has kicked my tail abunch. Good Luck.
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2010, 08:59 AM   #12
345 DeSoto
Senior Member
 
345 DeSoto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Summer Skaneateles,NY/Winter Port St.Lucie, FL
Posts: 2,163
Default Re: Wiring a universal key-switch?

Does the ignition switch HAVE to be grounded, or will it work with out being grounded?...
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2010, 09:08 AM   #13
todd_a
Member
 
todd_a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Tyler, TX
Posts: 405
Default Re: Wiring a universal key-switch?

If you are dealing with this one:


Then it wires like this:
__________________
My Photography Website:
http://toddaaron.com
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2010, 09:10 AM   #14
todd_a
Member
 
todd_a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Tyler, TX
Posts: 405
Default Re: Wiring a universal key-switch?

Quote:
Originally Posted by 345 DeSoto View Post
Does the ignition switch HAVE to be grounded, or will it work with out being grounded?...
Doesn't mention grounding it anywhere on the instructions.
__________________
My Photography Website:
http://toddaaron.com
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2010, 09:21 AM   #15
30dodge
Grenade Inspector
 
30dodge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: las vegas nv
Posts: 286
Default Re: Wiring a universal key-switch?

Ign. switches do not have to be grounded, they are there only to direct the the power to the desired circuit. They can be mounted on wood, metal,fiber glass. or just hang in the air and still work.
__________________
Beatings Will Continue Until Morale Improves
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2010, 09:53 AM   #16
345 DeSoto
Senior Member
 
345 DeSoto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Summer Skaneateles,NY/Winter Port St.Lucie, FL
Posts: 2,163
Default Re: Wiring a universal key-switch?

I have a switch out of a boat, and it only has "ST", "IGN","BAT"..thus the question about grounding it...Thanks...
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2010, 11:56 AM   #17
VirgilHilts
Senior Member
 
VirgilHilts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: A town called Malice, Ontario Canada
Posts: 2,315
Default Re: Wiring a universal key-switch?

As others have stated, it does not need to be grounded for its basic functions. Some factory switches ( late 60's Fords) do just to provide a ground source for the brake warning light during cranking.
__________________
Stu

“I really admire qualities in others that I don’t possess. Subtlety being one…”
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2010, 02:07 PM   #18
Southfork
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Rigby, ID USA
Posts: 1,388
Default Re: Wiring a universal key-switch?

The ignition switch in my '65 Impala project works only when it is Not mounted in the dash. Turn the key and nothing happens; Take the switch out of the dash and let it dangle on the wires, and a turn of the key starts the engine right up.

It's been a while since I read the book "Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance," but the Impala's ignition switch seems counter-intuitive. Why won't it work when it is mounted/grounded in the dash? Go figure...
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2010, 02:14 PM   #19
Ice man
Member
 
Ice man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida
Posts: 943
Default Re: Wiring a universal key-switch?

Its a switch, so NO ground is necessary on that one. Its just passing current to what ever. If it had a Back light then it would need a ground. Iceman
__________________
Fix anything but a broken heart
offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:19 AM.