Register now to get rid of these ads!

Body damage, how would you attack this?

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Von Rigg Fink, Feb 2, 2010.

1. Von Rigg Fink

Von Rigg Fink
    from Garage

If your back panel was like this, would you beat on it and try to make it submit to getting it close? and than add body filler to hide what you cant get out? or (also im a novice at metal work) and it looks a bit worse in person..it looks like the previous owner put his tools behind the seat back and they continuously beat the shit out of the back of the sedan.

[​IMG]

If you have a rear 28 tudor lower panel that isnt dented or in too bad a shape , would you cut out the one pictured above and put in 18" of lower panel from the good back panel you have laying around?

2. LarzBahrs

LarzBahrs
    from Sacramento

I say beat it out, practice makes perfect.

3. johnboy13

johnboy13

I'd try to beat it out too. It's not really that bad. Take your time. There's as much chance of you warping the heck out of the panel welding the new one in. Then you have a lot more work to do.

4. steveo3002

steveo3002
    from england

someone thats got skills should get that nice enough

thing is if youre a newbie you can make it worse , maybe theres a local hamber that could offer some help?

5. LOWBLAZERO1

LOWBLAZERO1

i say try to beat it out, worst case scenario is you screw it up and have to replace the lower section. which you are thinking about doing anyway, its a good chance for learning experience.

6. Von Rigg Fink

Von Rigg Fink
    from Garage

i would only have to weld it across the top..the sides , and bottom would still bolt in as originals do..

i guess i could practice beating on it, i just know it isnt going to come out "flat" like it should be, and there will be body mud used to make it look right, where as with stitching this other lower panel in it will not have any except where the seam would be..