Welcome to the THE H.A.M.B. forums.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Go Back   THE H.A.M.B. > General Discussion > The Hokey Ass Message Board

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-20-2009, 07:05 AM   #1
Von Rigg Fink
Old School HAMBer
 
Von Rigg Fink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Garage
Posts: 13,446
Default 700r4 Or TH350 Dust Cover issues

I got what was supposed to be a 700r4 dust cover ( the cover for the torque converter and flexplate) from "Chev's of the 40's" store..
Im wondering if they may have sent me a th350 dust cover?

this one will not fit up to the mounting flange or line up with the screw holes to attach it..
it isnt deep enough , it hits the flexplate, and the cover would need to go maybe 1 to 1.5" more up before it would mate with the trans housing, sorry I didnt take pictures.


Is there a significant difference in a 700r4 dust cover and a TH350 dust cover?
what are the differences..or would you say this is why this one isnt fitting?

i havent had the time to see if it fits my 350/350 combo in my 53 chevy..if it does and is for a th350 than im not going to be bummed, i can use it. but i want the right one for my A build and that would be for a 700r4.
anyone got a good source for this 700r4 dust cover..chrome would be nice
__________________
Goldchainers CC S.E. Michigan Chapter
Charter Member

Some guys could fuck up free lunch.

Last edited by Von Rigg Fink; 11-20-2009 at 07:11 AM.
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2009, 07:18 AM   #2
TrannyMan
Member
 
TrannyMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Richmond Texas
Posts: 475
Default Re: 700r4 Or TH350 Dust Cover issues

They are definitely different. You can get a chrome one from jegs.com Part #555-60188
__________________

offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2009, 07:23 AM   #3
Von Rigg Fink
Old School HAMBer
 
Von Rigg Fink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Garage
Posts: 13,446
Default Re: 700r4 Or TH350 Dust Cover issues

would mateing a 700r4 behind an older 350 cause this due to a larger diameter flexplate?

maybe a stupid question but im going to throw it out there..

got a bosh mini starter, too..but it doesnt seem to even get close to that at the moment..it hits the dam flext plate with about an inch to go before it would lay up on the trans..and the bend at the back doesnt seem right either


are the 700r4's "deeper" than a th350 inspection cover/ dust cover?
the one in that picture looks just like what i have

I do plan on calling them this morning to see if they sent me the wrong one in error
__________________
Goldchainers CC S.E. Michigan Chapter
Charter Member

Some guys could fuck up free lunch.

Last edited by Von Rigg Fink; 11-20-2009 at 07:30 AM.
offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 11-20-2009, 10:00 AM   #4
wildearp
Member
 
wildearp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: tucson, az
Posts: 520
Default Re: 700r4 Or TH350 Dust Cover issues

FYI, you can run without a dust cover too...........
__________________
Simple solutions to complex problems.
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2009, 10:01 AM   #5
onlychevrolets
Senior Member
 
onlychevrolets's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Metro Hiram
Posts: 2,312
Default Re: 700r4 Or TH350 Dust Cover issues

but don't
__________________
Plus tax , title , and your old recap-able tire
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2009, 10:05 AM   #6
nutajunka
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: North Indy
Posts: 1,466
Default Re: 700r4 Or TH350 Dust Cover issues

Don't know about the early 700r4's, but mine has a cast alumnium cover.
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2009, 10:08 AM   #7
Von Rigg Fink
Old School HAMBer
 
Von Rigg Fink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Garage
Posts: 13,446
Default Re: 700r4 Or TH350 Dust Cover issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by wildearp View Post
FYI, you can run without a dust cover too...........
I dont wanna do that..besides it looks better when its on..than when its off
__________________
Goldchainers CC S.E. Michigan Chapter
Charter Member

Some guys could fuck up free lunch.
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2009, 10:13 AM   #8
falfas55
Grenade Inspector
 
falfas55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: garland,texas
Posts: 292
Default Re: 700r4 Or TH350 Dust Cover issues

The one for the 350 will work better than the one for the 700.Try it, you'll see what i mean.FALFA
__________________
WHEN RACING IS OUTLAWED,ONLY OUTLAWS WILL RACE!
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2009, 10:14 AM   #9
Von Rigg Fink
Old School HAMBer
 
Von Rigg Fink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Garage
Posts: 13,446
Default Re: 700r4 Or TH350 Dust Cover issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by nutajunka View Post
Don't know about the early 700r4's, but mine has a cast alumnium cover.

i probably should just go to my GM dealer and buy an OEM..they always fit better than the knock off ..or different country of origin parts.

Chev's of the 40's has had these for sale and alot of them come back due to fit issues..bummer..back to the oem stuff
__________________
Goldchainers CC S.E. Michigan Chapter
Charter Member

Some guys could fuck up free lunch.

Last edited by Von Rigg Fink; 11-20-2009 at 10:19 AM.
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2009, 10:27 AM   #10
Von Rigg Fink
Old School HAMBer
 
Von Rigg Fink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Garage
Posts: 13,446
Default Re: 700r4 Or TH350 Dust Cover issues

2 different size ring gears...thats why it dont fit..
Im running a 12"..and normally it would have had an 11"..theres my inch i needed..

im going to see how it fits on my other car
__________________
Goldchainers CC S.E. Michigan Chapter
Charter Member

Some guys could fuck up free lunch.
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2009, 10:24 AM   #11
Von Rigg Fink
Old School HAMBer
 
Von Rigg Fink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Garage
Posts: 13,446
Default Re: 700r4 Or TH350 Dust Cover issues

BTT for more input
__________________
Goldchainers CC S.E. Michigan Chapter
Charter Member

Some guys could fuck up free lunch.
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2009, 10:40 AM   #12
walrus
Member
 
walrus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Central Texas
Posts: 508
Default Re: 700r4 Or TH350 Dust Cover issues

In response to wildearp and onlychevrolets, I have often tried to fit a a dustcover on my 350, sometimes with luck, others not so lucky , usually the shift linkage ,my rigging converting a standard shift to and automatic column shift on a 55 chev, oil filter, other stuff makes it dificult, So I usuall don't run a cover, My question is to ya'll why does it hurt to not run one , especally here in texas , no snow or salt , but some dust , what does it hurt to leave it off?? runs cooler, huh? thanks for whatever opinion you have ,,,,
__________________
"Lord please keep your arm around my shoulders and your hand over my mouth"
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2009, 11:05 AM   #13
dbradley
Senior Member
 
dbradley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Sapulpa, OK
Posts: 1,038
Default Re: 700r4 Or TH350 Dust Cover issues

My '33 has 700R4 with original "cast" cover, GM mini starter and 168 tooth (large) flexplate. Just make sure your flexplate matches the type of engine you have (one piece rear main -vs- 2 piece rear main) The one piece will have a balance weight welded to it. And I have a 350 trans and cover in the shop and yes they are COMPLETELY different. The 700r4 uses HUGE 'metric' mounting bolts for the cover.
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2009, 11:38 AM   #14
cleatus
Senior Member
 
cleatus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 2,272
Default Re: 700r4 Or TH350 Dust Cover issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by Von Rigg Fink View Post
i probably should just go to my GM dealer and buy an OEM..
Trans rebuild shops are also a good source.
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2009, 11:49 AM   #15
Von Rigg Fink
Old School HAMBer
 
Von Rigg Fink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Garage
Posts: 13,446
Default Re: 700r4 Or TH350 Dust Cover issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by cleatus View Post
Trans rebuild shops are also a good source.

yep ..talked to the guy i use and he said if he came across one he would let me know.( he told me to try a junk yard..for 5 bucks I'd be done).GM dealer wants 44$ for the stamped steel one..im not convinced its the right one..Im waiting for someone to come on here and say..this is the part # you want..

the GM parts guy was scratching his head too much for me to think he knew what he was talking about

as for the guys saying why run one...well its there for a reason, rocks, road debri, plastic bag on the road etc..just think would you want any of that shit up around your torque converter..flexplate..and seals?..i dont..if i dont have to
not to mention being low..possibly hitting somethig solid with the flexplate and bending it
__________________
Goldchainers CC S.E. Michigan Chapter
Charter Member

Some guys could fuck up free lunch.

Last edited by Von Rigg Fink; 11-23-2009 at 12:01 PM.
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2009, 12:19 PM   #16
wildearp
Member
 
wildearp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: tucson, az
Posts: 520
Default Re: 700r4 Or TH350 Dust Cover issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by walrus View Post
In response to wildearp and onlychevrolets, I have often tried to fit a a dustcover on my 350, sometimes with luck, others not so lucky , usually the shift linkage ,my rigging converting a standard shift to and automatic column shift on a 55 chev, oil filter, other stuff makes it dificult, So I usuall don't run a cover, My question is to ya'll why does it hurt to not run one , especally here in texas , no snow or salt , but some dust , what does it hurt to leave it off?? runs cooler, huh? thanks for whatever opinion you have ,,,,
If you have a leak at the pump seal, the cover will act as a funnel and make a precise puddle of trans fluid, rather than slinging it all over the place.

I had one of those leaks.

I have run without a cover on most vehicles. It isn't like dividing by zero........
__________________
Simple solutions to complex problems.
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2009, 09:39 PM   #17
dbradley
Senior Member
 
dbradley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Sapulpa, OK
Posts: 1,038
Default Re: 700r4 Or TH350 Dust Cover issues

I looked 'on-line' and found that mine is a "4WD" front case that allows the cast cover to be used..... see


The TH-700R4 was also offered in a 2 wheel drive version AND a 4 wheel drive version. The 2WD had a longer tailshaft and a housing including a bushing to support it along with containing a speedometer drive housing. The 4WD version had a much shorter tailshaft which was to be supported by the adapter and transfer case input shaft bearing, the 4WD speedometer was driven from within the transfer case rear output shaft housing. The only other difference I have found here is that the torque converter cover (dust cover) for the 4WD version was made of cast aluminum instead of stamped steel or molded plastic, and it used much larger bolts to attach to the transmission, as it also made provisions to attach strut rod reinforcements from a bracket that mounted under the motor mounts to the lower portion of the cast aluminum dust cover.

offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2009, 07:06 AM   #18
NITROFC
BANNED
 
NITROFC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: 35 miles NW of NYC in NJ
Posts: 6,197
Default Re: 700r4 Or TH350 Dust Cover issues

http://www.tdperformance.com/products/?id=3381
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2009, 07:43 AM   #19
Von Rigg Fink
Old School HAMBer
 
Von Rigg Fink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Garage
Posts: 13,446
Default Re: 700r4 Or TH350 Dust Cover issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by NITROFC View Post

Nice try..no 700r4
__________________
Goldchainers CC S.E. Michigan Chapter
Charter Member

Some guys could fuck up free lunch.
offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:04 AM.