Welcome to the THE H.A.M.B. forums.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Go Back   THE H.A.M.B. > General Discussion > The Hokey Ass Message Board

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-12-2009, 02:59 PM   #1
Jimv
Old School HAMBer
 
Jimv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: warwick,RI 02886
Posts: 2,908
Default fuel gauge Ohms

I have a fuel gauge that reads from 0-90 ohms(to replacement my old one) The sender that is in my car is a 33-240 ohm one.Is there anyway to run this gauge? Can i got to radio shack & get a resistor or something?
Thanks
JimV
__________________
Jerry's Dead,Phish sucks,get over it!!
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2009, 03:30 PM   #2
36-3window
Old School HAMBer
 
36-3window's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: in my own little world
Posts: 10,726
Default Re: fuel gauge Ohms

can i assume when you say 0-90 ohms you are talking about 1965 and up GM? if so , the 0 is ohms empty and 90 is ohms full

the 240-33 is Stewart Wanner and 240 is ohms empty and 33 is ohms full. as you can see they work completely opposite of each other...i see no way any resister can fix that . if there is way , please someone tell us . i think the only way to make you fuel gauge work properly is with the correct sender
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2009, 03:32 PM   #3
Shifty Shifterton
Old School HAMBer
 
Shifty Shifterton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Central Iowa
Posts: 4,980
Default Re: fuel gauge Ohms

Dunno but I think if you run it as-is, it'd work like a fuel warning light. Bout 1/8th tank the needle would start plummeting off full
__________________
The same........but different
offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 06-12-2009, 04:20 PM   #4
1950ChevySuburban
Member Emeritus
 
1950ChevySuburban's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Tucson AZ
Posts: 6,231
Default Re: fuel gauge Ohms

Its not gonna work, sorry.
__________________
My '29 Sedan build thread can be viewed here:

/showthread.php?t=635145
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2009, 04:55 PM   #5
RAY With
Old School HAMBer
 
RAY With's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Montgomery ,Texas
Posts: 3,126
Default Re: fuel gauge Ohms

Fuel Gauges have always been a pain in the ass for most of us. Just did an auto meter full set of 5 inch gauges and had total hell with the gas sender.Took another 50 + bucks and an additional 10 days to get the Ring "adapter" so the screws would line up. They never tell you about all the additional crap you need to use some of there gauges.
__________________
http://www.hotrodchat.com/gallery/ 29,660 +pictures and 160 albums and growing-Many HAMB FRIENDLY and some not. Many subjects and many old drag pictures from the 50-60's
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2009, 11:57 AM   #6
36-3window
Old School HAMBer
 
36-3window's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: in my own little world
Posts: 10,726
Default Re: fuel gauge Ohms

Quote:
Originally Posted by RAY With View Post
Fuel Gauges have always been a pain in the ass for most of us. Just did an auto meter full set of 5 inch gauges and had total hell with the gas sender.Took another 50 + bucks and an additional 10 days to get the Ring "adapter" so the screws would line up. They never tell you about all the additional crap you need to use some of there gauges.

they can be , but i feel it is worth the effort to get an accurate fuel gauge. i'm proud of the fact that the cars i build have accurate fuel gauges and speedometers..i don't want a call from the side of the road from the owner. all you need is the correct ohms range sender properly setup for the depth of the tank, wired correctly and a good ground

when you say "ring adapter" i assume you mean you have a stock early ford tank with 6 sender mounting holes....yes , you need an adapter to go to the normal 5 bolt. is $50 what they cost now? i think the last one i bought was $15

new aftermarket replacement tanks from places like Tanks and Vintque usually have provisions for a 5 bolt sender. i've used a couple steel tanks from Bob Drake and they had about 3 bolt patterns
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2009, 08:03 AM   #7
marks914
Alliance Vendor
 
marks914's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: The Motor City
Posts: 335
Default Re: fuel gauge Ohms

Yes, the fuel gauge is always the second question a customer asks, after how to calibrate the speedo. We are working on some programmable fuel gauges so you can run virtually any sender, but its a while out. Faria used to have a programmable sonic fuel level sender that was pretty slick, but they never caught on.

In short, you will need a new gauge (easier) or a new sender (might be cheaper)

Mark
__________________
Alliance menbers-10% off in stock items and 15% off special order/custom work!
MODERN COMPONENTS
CLASSIC STYLE
NEW VINTAGE

http://www.newvintageusa.com
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2009, 08:55 AM   #8
BangerMatt
Member
 
BangerMatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Islip Terrace, NY
Posts: 464
Default Re: fuel gauge Ohms

I have a fuel gauge under my seat.
It's a stick. . . 1 inch on the stick is about 2-3 gallons of gas.
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2009, 10:56 PM   #9
Ian Berky
Old School HAMBer
 
Ian Berky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Riverside, California
Posts: 3,674
Default Re: fuel gauge Ohms

Interesting all this stuff but what a pain in the A!*#@!!!

I have 51 chevy stock fuel gauge and a new mustang tank which already has a sending unit. Now, where do i get a different sending unit or do i use a resistor? I've been doing research for the last hour and NOTHING!! Im kinda of in a rush to figure that stuff out because my car is getting rewired right now by a friend and we both dont know what to do.

Thanx

Ian
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2009, 11:05 PM   #10
vertible59
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: macon, georgia
Posts: 1,062
Default Re: fuel gauge Ohms

Quote:
Originally Posted by BangerMatt View Post
I have a fuel gauge under my seat.
It's a stick. . . 1 inch on the stick is about 2-3 gallons of gas.
Been there, done that. The real beauty is, that it works every time and never gives any problems.
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2009, 07:32 AM   #11
pinupwithgun
Grenade Inspector
 
pinupwithgun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: fleetwood,pa
Posts: 174
Default Re: fuel gauge Ohms

Where can i get the sender adapter for the ford early tank?
online   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2009, 07:45 AM   #12
duffman
Grenade Inspector
 
duffman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Bozeman, MT
Posts: 287
Default Re: fuel gauge Ohms

Ian stewart warner makes fuel guages in all 3 common ohm ratings. Just got one for the mustang tank in my 55. Napa had it in their warehouse for $33.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]I've got a fever, and the only prescription is more cowbell!
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2009, 08:54 AM   #13
Ian Berky
Old School HAMBer
 
Ian Berky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Riverside, California
Posts: 3,674
Default Re: fuel gauge Ohms

Quote:
Originally Posted by duffman View Post
Ian stewart warner makes fuel guages in all 3 common ohm ratings. Just got one for the mustang tank in my 55. Napa had it in their warehouse for $33.
Im all over it!! The hamb rules!!

Ian
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2009, 09:40 AM   #14
chevnut
Member
 
chevnut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Corona, Ca
Posts: 983
Default Re: fuel gauge Ohms

For the less expensive approach, I gutted the old GM Stewart Warner sender and placed it on my new mustang cougar sender. It takes a little tweaking and testing but float works like it was meant for it. I have better pics somewhere. If I find I will post again.

Peace,
Chevnut

offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2009, 10:47 AM   #15
duffman
Grenade Inspector
 
duffman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Bozeman, MT
Posts: 287
Default Re: fuel gauge Ohms

my truck is a GMC, so I have the advantage of being able to put a 2 1/16 guage in the factory spot.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]I've got a fever, and the only prescription is more cowbell!
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2009, 12:01 PM   #16
19Fordy
Old School HAMBer
 
19Fordy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Coral Springs, FL
Posts: 4,401
Thumbs up Re: fuel gauge Ohms

Quote:
Originally Posted by pinupwithgun View Post
Where can i get the sender adapter for the ford early tank?
These guys sell them. You have to call them as it's not shown in thir parts list. But they do sell them. Cheaper to make your own.
http://www.yogisinc.com/
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2009, 12:56 PM   #17
Shifty Shifterton
Old School HAMBer
 
Shifty Shifterton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Central Iowa
Posts: 4,980
Default Re: fuel gauge Ohms

Quote:
Originally Posted by RAY With View Post
Fuel Gauges have always been a pain in the ass for most of us. Just did an auto meter full set of 5 inch gauges and had total hell with the gas sender.Took another 50 + bucks and an additional 10 days to get the Ring "adapter" so the screws would line up. They never tell you about all the additional crap you need to use some of there gauges.

I find the half-empty/half-full analogy really fits well this time!

If $50 and 10 days is all a problem hangs me up for, I am a lucky man. It don't get no cheaper or quicker when it comes to cool cars.
__________________
The same........but different
offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:02 PM.