Register now to get rid of these ads!

CUSTOM DASH TECH

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Chaz, Dec 4, 2004.

1. Chaz

Chaz
    Member Emeritus

OK gang here's some more tech from the Strange Days Garage...How to make a beautiful dash for less than five bucks...I'm assuming you have some gauges.
    If not , go get some and then we'll start the five buck deal.
    My car is an early coupe, and most have little panels on the dash that can be converted. On my 34 Plymouth there is a glove box door that I'm gonna convert for the purpose of this tutorial. Here's a picture.
    [​IMG]

There's an identical panel on the drivers side and a larger oval in the middle.
    First I removed the glove box door and cut the center out of it on a scroll saw. I'm a woodworker,so I just hacked through it with a wood blade.. It worked. Then I cleaned the edge up a bit with a file. This is the new trim ring.

[​IMG]
    Then I went to the local sheet metal shop and pulled some small scraps of aluminum out of their trash. I'm guessing they are about 16 gage. Then I cut an aluminum piece to fit behind the trim ring I made earlier.
    [​IMG]

Now were gonna "jewel" the aluminum. Make a table for your drill press with a fence on it . Mine is a piece of 3/4 plywood with a 1 by 2 screwed along the back edge. Place a black line at the center of the fence
    Then I took a piece of white particle board and marked off a line every half inch. The picture shows this better than I can explain it.
    [​IMG]

Screw the aluminum to the lined particleboard. Use the gauge centers for mounting points and set the screws so they are flush to the aluminum.

[​IMG]