Register now to get rid of these ads!

Spring in front of axle...Anyone?

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by LesIsMore, Dec 2, 2008.

1. LesIsMore

LesIsMore
    from Ohio

Doesn't seem to be too popular? But, does anyone have a 39 frontend or similar vintage with the spring mounted in front of the axle? Would like to see pics of someones setup or see other options for reconfiguring it, ie, different or custom perches etc.

Trying to use what I have, if a total waste of time, guess I can just shell out the bucks for a different setup. Anybody think it is fine?[​IMG]

2. F&J

F&J

I'm no expert, but that dropped axle setup looks like a 35 or 36.Mod the bones by cutting off the tips. Then use 34-down perches & "spring over axle".

3. LesIsMore

LesIsMore
    from Ohio

Can anyone confirm or deny the year of this, taken off of a 39 which I though was stock stuff. So if not, anyone know the exact year? Please help identify...Here is a closeup
    [​IMG]

4. This question comes up here every few weeks. Search Frank Mack. Best example of spring in front!

5. Toast

Toast
    from Jenks, OK

My coupe had a 40 spring in front but I can't find any good pics.

[​IMG]

6. chaddilac

chaddilac

looks like a 40 frontend, 39 spindles....

7. LesIsMore

LesIsMore
    from Ohio

Thanks. So a few of you are running it, and negatives or reason not to?

8. scottybaccus

scottybaccus

It was a stock setup for years. Dennis Carpenter catalog shows it used from 37 to 41 in both cars and pickups. I orderd a NOS wishbone specifically to get this one to split. It's the heaviest available and will stand up to shock mounting and spring perches on the side of the bones. I like the idea of using the spring out front where your design allows it.

9. 327-365hp

327-365hp
    from Mass

The Khougaz roadster used this set up with a flat crossmember to get it super low.

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

10. F&J

F&J

btt...