Welcome to the THE H.A.M.B. forums.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Go Back   THE H.A.M.B. > General Discussion > The Hokey Ass Message Board

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-30-2008, 07:21 AM   #1
galaxieguy
FNG
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Valparaiso, IN.
Posts: 5
Question Autolite 3X2 Setup?

Has anyone ever tried to use Autolite 2100 Carbs in place of Holley's for a Ford FE 3X2 (tri-power) setup? I'm having dificulty setting up the linkage correctly... Any suggestions?
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2008, 08:22 AM   #2
exwestracer
Old School HAMBer
 
exwestracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Latrobe, PA (Mister Rogers' neighborhood)
Posts: 3,580
Default Re: Autolite 3X2 Setup?

Keep in mind the 3X2 setups only idled on the center carb, and the outers only opened under hard acceleration. You're going to need to plug the idle ports on the outer Autolites. I believe the outers did not have power valves either (?).

You will need a slider on the center carb where the linkage goes to the outers, and the outers will need the throttle arm length shortened so they can "catch up" as the center carb comes full open.
__________________
Words of Wisdom from an old master...
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2008, 08:52 AM   #3
R Pope
Old School HAMBer
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Saskatchewan
Posts: 2,937
Default Re: Autolite 3X2 Setup?

There was a good how-to on just that subject in Hot Rod mag a few years ago. Maybe someone has a copy.
offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 10-30-2008, 09:58 AM   #4
galaxieguy
FNG
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Valparaiso, IN.
Posts: 5
Default Re: Autolite 3X2 Setup?

Thanks.
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2008, 10:11 AM   #5
tommy
Old School HAMBer
 
tommy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Davidsonville, Md.
Posts: 14,383
Default Re: Autolite 3X2 Setup?

Quote:
Originally Posted by galaxieguy View Post
Has anyone ever tried to use Autolite 2100 Carbs in place of Holley's for a Ford FE 3X2 (tri-power) setup? I'm having dificulty setting up the linkage correctly... Any suggestions?
If you have the correct carbs, I'm pretty sure the linkage is reproduced. It goes down the drivers side across in front of the front carb and then back up the pass side to the carb. Original linkage parts show up on Ebay pretty often. You can even get new carbs for that set up but pack a wallet.
__________________
Quote...You are hereby Knighted...'Sir Asseth of Hole' Tommy... 3W Larry.
Quote...It's called "HOT RODDING", not paint by numbers....Fab32
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2008, 04:51 PM   #6
Jalopy Jim
Senior Member
 
Jalopy Jim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Nowthen, Mn
Posts: 1,884
Default Re: Autolite 3X2 Setup?

Dearborn classics sells the Blue Thunder linkage for the Autolites in a 3-2 setup along with the air filter , carbs and intake. $$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$
__________________
NORSEWOODS woodworking
http://www.amazon.com/gp/browse.html...A2ARWVW5926VUX
offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:50 PM.