Register now to get rid of these ads!

Building a roadster from scratch.

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by VonMoldy, Oct 8, 2008.

1. VonMoldy

VonMoldy
    from UTARRGH!

I have been thinking about building a roadster from scratch but most likely steel.;) I haven't quite decided on a model A or T. I am a broke college student and I have been interested in metal working for a while and now that I am in a panel fab. class I have some knowledge and confidence to attempt something like this. Since I don't have tons of money to buy a cherry roadster to replicate what would you guys suggest? Should I buy some body I could afford which would most likely be a pile of rust and come in a convenient paper bag or should I buy one of those cheapo fiberglass bodies?
    [​IMG]
    $469!

Last edited: Oct 8, 2008
  2. For a few hundred more, you can get a '26-'27 T shell. Better looking(my opinion), better proportions, and more room. Build the chassis, etc, and later you can either find a steel body, or learn to form one from scratch, with the shell as a pattern.

3. VonMoldy

VonMoldy
    from UTARRGH!

true but I don't really know which direction I will take. Been thinking of doing a road racer early T.
    Basically I am looking for ways others have replicated a body. Could it be done just by accurate drawings?

4. Shifty Shifterton

Shifty Shifterton

If you have the skill to make a car from scratch, then you also have the skill to save the worst original 32-34 ford body you ever saw. I think it would be much smarter use of your time & talent. Good luck

5. Gotgas

Gotgas
    from DFW USA

Buy a fiberglass roadster and do your best to replicate the Speed Sport Roadster. Ryan did an article on this thing once. You should see it in its original black guise... wow!!

[​IMG]

6. Unless you are 5'-0" you won't like the '23 T, with the steering wheel straight up between your bent knees. Of course, millions of T Bucket fans would disagree!

7. DocWatson