Welcome to the THE H.A.M.B. forums.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Go Back   THE H.A.M.B. > General Discussion > The Hokey Ass Message Board

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-28-2008, 07:00 PM   #1
cowboy1
Member
 
cowboy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 919
Default Need Info on gm turbo 350 trans with lock up converter

I just got a Turbo 350 trans out of a 81 Z28 with a lock up converter has anybody here used one?
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2008, 07:10 PM   #2
The Wizard!
Grenade Inspector
 
The Wizard!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Stillwater Minnesota
Posts: 140
Default Re: Need Info on gm turbo 350 trans with lock up converter

What kind of info you need? You can leave lockup off all the time. You can turn it on and off with a switch, You can get a vacuum switch to control it. What else?
__________________
I'm off to see the ........
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2008, 07:33 PM   #3
cowboy1
Member
 
cowboy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 919
Default Re: Need Info on gm turbo 350 trans with lock up converter

it has a 4 pin plug on the one side of the trans. What do the wires connect to. I seen Ron Francis has a wiring kit for it and uses the spedo cable for info .
I was told i can pull the plug out and the servo and install a freeze plug where the 4 pin connctor once was but, i still need to use the lock up converter due to diffrent ionput shaft . Is that all true?
I like the idea of having somewhat of an overdrive trans.
offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 05-29-2008, 08:30 AM   #4
treb11
Alliance Member
 
treb11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 1,944
Default Re: Need Info on gm turbo 350 trans with lock up converter

its not an overdrive (final is still 1:1), just a locking converter to eliminate slippage. if you do away with the plug, you do away with the locking feature. basically the plug goes to a vacuum switch (I have one if you need it) that only locks up the converter under highe vacuum i.e. at highway speeds. wiring diagram from an 81 chevy pickup will show whats needed. I don't think the wiring kits for the 200R4 / 700R4 will help hook this one up
__________________
Only the good die young. If you want to live a long time, be an asshole.

" I am attempting madam, to construct a Nemonic memory circuit using stone knives and bearskins "

Last edited by treb11; 05-29-2008 at 08:31 AM. Reason: added info for person with question
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2008, 08:58 AM   #5
Retrorod
Alliance Member
 
Retrorod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Simi Valley, Calif.
Posts: 1,947
Default Re: Need Info on gm turbo 350 trans with lock up converter

It'll only lock in high gear. You can wire it through a simple toggle switch and a low vac. switch for unlocking under a load. I'll see if I can find the GM part number we used to use on those things when they were new. When a customer complained of "chuggle" at lower speeds in high gear we used to wire in that vac. switch to "open" the circuit when the manifold vac dropped below 10".

Not a good idea to just leave it unlocked, a 350C tends to run a bit hot if not allowed to lock up.....they run real cool when locked.
__________________
Life's journey is not to
Arrive at the grave safely
In a well preserved body,
But rather to skid in sideways,
Totally used up and worn out, shouting
'...man,what a ride!'

George Carlin

Last edited by Retrorod; 05-29-2008 at 09:00 AM. Reason: add info
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2008, 05:56 AM   #6
cowboy1
Member
 
cowboy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 919
Default Re: Need Info on gm turbo 350 trans with lock up converter

Thanks for the info guys
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2008, 06:39 AM   #7
Dirty2
Old School HAMBer
 
Dirty2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Zip City, Texas 75180
Posts: 9,057
Default Re: Need Info on gm turbo 350 trans with lock up converter

I had a lock up 350 in my wagon and when you locked up the converter is was like a OD.
__________________
If it dont have 3 pedals it aint no HOT ROD !

If you didnt build it " Shut Up "

" I'm to old to get what I want and to young to give up trying "
me "


www.texasnostalgianationals.com
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2008, 09:02 AM   #8
F.O.G
Grenade Inspector
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Pacific,Mo
Posts: 112
Default Re: Need Info on gm turbo 350 trans with lock up converter

Drops RPM approx 200-250 when locked. Toggle switch for lockup is the way
to go. Lots of problems with shuffling when they came out (-78) I think. You can adjust lockup point by adjusting allen screw in the lockup switch on valve
body by turning clockwise (allen may be covered with plastic that must be scraped off). Can be turned in until it bottoms if the conv clutch starts chattering and the it works like no lockup is present. Won't run too hot.
offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:08 AM.