Register now to get rid of these ads!

Powerglide to TH350 swap questions

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by boscosis, Oct 9, 2007.

1. boscosis

boscosis

Hey guys, I'm putting a TH350 in a 1962 impala which previously had a cast iron glide. My TH350 is a long tailshaft (8" instead of 6"). I know that an aluminum glide and a short TH350 are close enough in length to not require reworking the driveshaft. I'm also pretty sure that this long TH350 and an aluminum glide only differ by about 2 inches. When I measure what I need to do, I'm finding that I need to shorten about 4.5", does this sound right? Does anyone know if a cast iron glide is shorter than an aluminum one?

Thanks

2. David Chandler

David Chandler

I'm no expert but I do have a couple of long shaft th350's. I believe the tailshaft is 9 inches long on them. The will swap length wise for a 700r4, by moving or changing the crossmember. So 4 1/2 inches sounds a little off to me. I'd guess it's closer to 3, providing the glide is the same length as a 6 inch th350. Rather than hacking the drive shaft, you might see if a trans shop could shorten the tailshaft.
    Good luck!

3. squirrel

squirrel

I think the iron glides are a big shorter, so 4.5" does sound about right. I hope you have the trans installed and the car sitting level before you start measuring for the driveshaft though, that way you'll only have to get it done once.

4. boscosis

boscosis

Well that's good to know, it sure does seem like it would be shorter than an aluminum one based on my driveshaft (I don't have the iron glide to measure).
    Does anyone have a cast iron glide they can measure for me?
    The car is sitting at ride height, and I made my Dad measure with me also rather than my usual measure once, cut twice, that's a little difficult to do when shortening.
    Thanks for the help.