Register now to get rid of these ads!

UPDATE what I've been up to... the '56

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by CAS, Nov 20, 2006.

1. CAS

CAS

I've been on the HAMB for a few years and I don't post much cause I don't have much to say. The last posts I made that were worthwhile were from back when I built my T.
    I am not too good at photo journaling my projects. I do however have a few pics of what I have been up to lately. For those that I have met over the last few years and have wondered what I have been up to...here it is:
    About 8 years ago I bought a '56 Ford for my wife. I brought it home and found that it was pretty rotten. I was on a tight budget and didn't want her driving a rusty looking pile so I did a quicky patch and mud job on it and shot some primer on it. It ended up like this....
    [​IMG]
    She drove the hell out of it and I did as well when I was building my T. I knew the cheapo body job wouldn't last so over the last year I decided to get after it. Well needless to say I got distracted with a new job, family stuff and just trying to be a good Dad. I also decided to redo my garage into more of a shop before I got to working on it (the garage difference can be seen in the first and last pics). Anyways....the rot had gotten pretty bad so I decided it needed new floors and lower fenders all the way around.
    I took the doors off and welded in some supports. Next I removed the rotten rockers, welded in a 1 x 1 tube from the toe board back to the door post and back to the rear wheel well. Then I disected out the inner rockers and rotten floors.
    [​IMG]
    I built new inner rockers and attached them to the 1x1 support and continued on to fabbing new floor supports and body mounts. Floors were to follow.
    [​IMG]