Register now to get rid of these ads!

hidden hinge installation

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by raj4851, Aug 11, 2006.

1. raj4851

raj4851
    from Decatur Il

Hey guys, I just got a hidden hinge set for my '39 sedan. I plan to use them in the conventional position instead of suicide. Does anyone know of any step by step articles on this installation. This is my first attempt at this. Thanks, Rod

2. ALL I can say for sure is the guys who make hidden hinges, should have to install every set they sell:D

3. T McG

T McG
    from Phoenix

Oh come on Kenny, he should just follow the easy to read instructions, after all, aftermarket parts come with instructions don't they? It would be tough to tell you step by step how to do it, but there are two important factors. 1- the pivot has to be as close to the outer sheetmetal as possible, and 2- they have to be inline with each other and as far apart as possible. Use a piece of round stock or threaded rod to keep the pivots inline or they will bind. Look at a car that doesn't have external hinges to see where they have the pivot points, and you should get the idea.

4. raj4851

raj4851
    from Decatur Il

Hey choprods, Thanks for the thought. :)

5. raj4851

raj4851
    from Decatur Il

Hey T McG, I appreciate the info. That helps. Thanks again, Rod

6. AllSteel34

AllSteel34