Register now to get rid of these ads!

quarter elliptic leaf springs in the rear?

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by daren, Dec 3, 2003.

1. daren

daren

If you were to mount the rear axle with quarter elliptic springs on each side would they also provide enough forward/rear support to run without radius rods or hairpins on each side?

I also plan on running a panhard bar and a forward torque arm attached to the chunk.This should be enough right?

Anyway the car is a 1930 Model A, and the rear is a Mustang 8-inch. I plan on running a 302 or a flathead, haven't decided yet.

2. El Caballo

El Caballo
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

No, if you want to live...

Think about it, you don't want only one pivot point. The spring can only be a spring in this case, you have to have radius rods and a panhard would not hurt at all.

3. daren

daren

Well I definately don't won't to die and I don't want to hurt anyone else or have a "death rod". This is my first time building car like this, i've always played with later models before, including my 50 ford. Thanks for the heads up. I will work on fabbing or buying radius rods.

4. How about using a four bar setup where the 1/4 elliptics are the lowers and you use tubulars for uppers ? Properly designed (with your torque arm and panhard) this should work fine. Just don't use shackles at the spring ends. Mount them solid.

5. lakesmod

lakesmod

6. kustombuilder

kustombuilder
    from Novi, MI

[ QUOTE ]
    How about using a four bar setup where the 1/4 elliptics are the lowers and you use tubulars for uppers ? Properly designed (with your torque arm and panhard) this should work fine. Just don't use shackles at the spring ends. Mount them solid.

[/ QUOTE ]