Welcome to the THE H.A.M.B. forums.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Go Back   THE H.A.M.B. > General Discussion > The Hokey Ass Message Board

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-13-2012, 05:57 PM   #1
Rob Paul
Senior Member
 
Rob Paul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Green Bay,WI
Posts: 1,342
Default AV8 torque tube question...??

Ok. AV8 roadster. 39 banjo rear with cut down torque tube and shaft.

Where the driveshaft pins to the pinion I used a 1/4" bolt and welded the nut to it. Well it snapped it. Not sure why. I would have used the pin and peened it over, but the one I got from Macs is not long enough. Its a 1.7" pin, and in needs to be more like 2".

I know I shouldnt use a bolt, but it really should work if set up correctly.

I think mabe the shaft is bottoming out in the ujoint bolt driving the shaft backwards and shearing the bolt.

Why?? Im not sure. The shaft is the correct length in the torque tube I think. I can get the bearing, speedo gear and snapring installed.

Any advice?

What else can I use other than trying to find the correct pin and waiting for it to come in the mail.

Rob
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2012, 06:28 PM   #2
Ole don
Alliance Member
 
Ole don's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Southern Illinois half way between Benton and DuQuoin
Posts: 2,731
Default Re: AV8 torque tube question...??

Wait for the correct part. Install it correctly.
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2012, 06:35 PM   #3
1935Ron
Senior Member
 
1935Ron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Jersey (refineing country)
Posts: 1,372
Default Re: AV8 torque tube question...??

Search is your buddy,,,,, does the drive shaft stick out from the tube ? if so how much?
offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 03-13-2012, 06:39 PM   #4
Dale Fairfax
Old School HAMBer
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 2,595
Default Re: AV8 torque tube question...??

Somebody out there (Maybe in Fordbarn land) knows how far the driveshaft should stick out beyond the edge of the torque tube bell. Too far and it does, indeed, hit the head of the U-joint bolt. In My case, where we cobbled up a combination of parts to fit a '32, the shaft was in contact with the bolt and induced a thrust on the transmission output shaft. Over time it essentially destroyed the transmission.
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2012, 06:45 PM   #5
barry wny
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: South West New York
Posts: 463
Default Re: AV8 torque tube question...??

I tried a roll pin &broke it, coupler fit too easy on the pinion.I had a piece of about 5/16 rod, not hard, belt sanded until it almost fit, drove it through peened both ends. Coupler is softer so if it fits loose at all, get another coupler, I was going to get one from mac's but found an oldie that slid on hard. Shouldn't bottom out if the shaft is right, I recall I made mine after checking a unmolested assembly, believe it was or 3/8" longer than the bell. Still got one I could check
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2012, 06:55 PM   #6
Rob Paul
Senior Member
 
Rob Paul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Green Bay,WI
Posts: 1,342
Default Re: AV8 torque tube question...??

With the torque tube and shaft put together the end of the shaft is inset about 1/4" from the edge of the bell.
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2012, 08:07 PM   #7
barry wny
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: South West New York
Posts: 463
Default Re: AV8 torque tube question...??

That 1/4" should be OK, If you have a snug fit on the splines try making a tight pin.
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2012, 08:12 PM   #8
jetmek
Senior Member
 
jetmek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: smalbany, NY
Posts: 1,847
Default Re: AV8 torque tube question...??

i tried a bolt once also...it doesnt work the harder the bolt the faster it breaks you need a soft rivit thru there to comform to slop and misalignment of the 2 parts
__________________
GO DEVIL GARAGE.... need a T, A or V8 engine rebuilt? Website- http://www.godevilgarage.com/
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2012, 09:28 PM   #9
Russco
Old School HAMBer
 
Russco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Central IL
Posts: 3,127
Default Re: AV8 torque tube question...??

The end of the shaft should be 1/8th inch short of the end of the bell. I use a roll pin in mine with safety wire.
__________________
Life is hard. After all, it kills you.
offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:52 PM.