Welcome to the THE H.A.M.B. forums.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Go Back   THE H.A.M.B. > General Discussion > The Hokey Ass Message Board

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-19-2011, 11:33 PM   #21
jbtine
Alliance Member
 
jbtine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Ft Worth Texas
Posts: 210
Default Re: 273 mopar engine looking for info

It's not true that you can't get pistons for the 10.5:1 4bbl engine. Egge has them listed from standard bore all the way to .060 over however the cost listed is $428 for a set. Bad thing about a 273 4bbl engine is finding gas to run in a 10.5 engine. You can build a 318 cheaper and have more power. They even use the same crank, the 273 with a smaller bore uses a much thicker wall wrist pin to make up the difference in balance. You can build the 318 and pull 400hp. Here are a couple of builds.

http://www.hotrod.com/howto/113_0304...ild/index.html

http://www.popularhotrodding.com/eng...ine/index.html
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2011, 11:41 PM   #22
jbtine
Alliance Member
 
jbtine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Ft Worth Texas
Posts: 210
Default Re: 273 mopar engine looking for info

Another thing as stated in previous posts is the difference in intake angles. This includes a bolt size change too. 64-65 uses 5/16 bolts and 66 up including 318,340 and 360s use 3/8 bolts. I doubt anyone still makes intakes for the 64-65 engine. If you are lucky to find an Edlebrock the number is LD-4. 66 up engines 273 and 318 uses the LD-4B and many other brands too.
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2011, 12:14 AM   #23
wrenchbender
Grenade Inspector
 
wrenchbender's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: mo-kan missouri
Posts: 241
Default Re: 273 mopar engine looking for info

I run a 273 with a turbo on it in my 64 afx dart at the hamb drags this last year and it smoked the tires the entire 1/4 mile mine has 340 heads and intake along with a six pack cam also has flat top pistons runs real good and has been super reliable I drive it everyday to work and everywhere else I wouldn't be afraid of running a 273 they are high winding and make good power for a small cube motor
__________________
Chrome don't get ya home
offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 01-20-2011, 05:04 AM   #24
REJ
Senior Member
 
REJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: FLA
Posts: 1,591
Default Re: 273 mopar engine looking for info

Either through Jegs or Summit you can get the 64-65 intake. Be prepared to pay for it though.
Last time I checked they were around 400-500.
__________________
If you are driving down the highway at light speed and turn on your headlights, what happens?

MOPAR HA/GR on the track!!
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2011, 06:20 AM   #25
OldBlueOval
Grenade Inspector
 
OldBlueOval's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 204
Default Re: 273 mopar engine looking for info

Thanks for all the info!! (what a great place) Now I have to decide. There is a complete 440 set up near me, or I can go with the 273 set up? All I want to do with the car at first is to cruise the streets and enjoy the ride and get it on the road!! Thanks Joe
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2011, 09:52 AM   #26
OldBlueOval
Grenade Inspector
 
OldBlueOval's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 204
Default Re: 273 mopar engine looking for info

With the small block 273 with the distributor in the rear would you have too recess the stock firewall.
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2011, 10:00 AM   #27
73RR
Old School HAMBer
 
73RR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Central Ory-Gun
Posts: 4,909
Default Re: 273 mopar engine looking for info

Use the 440. In dead stock form it will scare ya.

.
__________________
www.qualityengineeredcomponents.com
Early Hemi Parts, Pieces, Tech
Trans adapters for EarlyHEMI, Flat 6&8 and pre-62 A series


http://www.discoverthenetworks.org/Articles/Hansen.pdf
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2011, 10:03 AM   #28
Rodhotz
Senior Member
 
Rodhotz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Where the wind never stops!
Posts: 1,292
Default Re: 273 mopar engine looking for info

Quote:
Originally Posted by Deuces View Post
........ Or before it blows up??? That ain't no way to treat a classic motor!!
It's so classic we took 5 of them to the scrapper a few months back. But we did keep the formula "S" motors.
__________________
Never put off today what you can put off till tomorrow..By then some other sucker might do it!
online   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2011, 03:01 AM   #29
Gasolinedeniz
Member
 
Gasolinedeniz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: basel
Posts: 905
Default Re: 273 mopar engine looking for info

question was allready answered , so i deleted my post
__________________
Rebel Wire, American Made Harnesess
www.rebelwire.com

Last edited by Gasolinedeniz; 01-21-2011 at 03:07 AM.
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2011, 05:14 AM   #30
Pasta
Newbie
 
Pasta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: connecticut
Posts: 67
Default Re: 273 mopar engine looking for info

Go 440
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2011, 07:18 AM   #31
slackcat
Alliance Member
 
slackcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Galesburg, KS
Posts: 491
Default Re: 273 mopar engine looking for info

Running a 273 in my '66 Dart GT, no complaints.
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2011, 09:50 PM   #32
jbtine
Alliance Member
 
jbtine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Ft Worth Texas
Posts: 210
Default Re: 273 mopar engine looking for info

I just thought of one small problem with running a 273. It's not a big deal if you know about it but if you don't it will bite you in the butt about the time your replacing that automatic transmission with a 68 and later 904 or even an A500. The 67 and earlier cranks had a 40mm center hub that the torque converter fit in. Later cranks have a 46mm hole.
If you go to the later trany you can't use the earlier torque converter because the pump spline count is also different. There may be some some small hub converters that fit the later tranys but how many are available who knows. I rebuilt my Dad's 67 273 Valiant and actuall use a 69 318 crank that way any later trany worked just fine. They use to include a spacer ring with rebuilt converters so the earlier trany could be used behind 68 and later engines. Another solution would be to have the rear of the crank machined to 46mm while rebuilding that 273.
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2011, 09:03 AM   #33
tanof
Grenade Inspector
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 108
Default Re: 273 mopar engine looking for info

Doesn't Offy offer an intake for this engine? I see a listing in my old PAW catalog. It is under their custom order section where you have to wait one or two months and once the order is made, it is non-refundable.
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2011, 11:11 AM   #34
OldBlueOval
Grenade Inspector
 
OldBlueOval's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 204
Default Re: 273 mopar engine looking for info

Thanks for all the info everyone!! I got the 273 with the 904 auto transmission the motor looked clean for it's year. All the linkage and motor mounts came with it . It has the 4 barrel intake and carb, came out of a barracuda 235 horse power turns over adjustable rockers . It was stored inside in a heated garage! The guy I got it from had a valiant 2 barrel set up ,he was going to change his car over to the 4 barrel but had all the papper work on the vailant was for 2 barrel changed his mind. I think if I run headers, new distrubtor, new carb would increase the Hp. will open it up when the weather gets better. Joe
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2011, 02:35 PM   #35
Von Hartmann
Member
 
Von Hartmann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Byron, IL
Posts: 959
Default Re: 273 mopar engine looking for info

When I was reading my books, I'm pretty sure it said that the 64-65 273s all had solid lifters, then in 66 they offered the hydraulic.
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2011, 02:49 PM   #36
plymouth1952
Senior Member
 
plymouth1952's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Grants Pass Ore
Posts: 2,196
Default Re: 273 mopar engine looking for info

the real nice thing about a 273 is they had solid lifters ! that means Adj rockers not found on any 318/340/360s. they bolt on any LA motor and work with high lift cams like a chevy would. its also a hard hiting high rev motor like the 327 or 289 were.
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2011, 02:56 PM   #37
Kustom Linez
Member
 
Kustom Linez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: SOUTH MUCKLEFORD AUSTRALIA
Posts: 810
Default Re: 273 mopar engine looking for info

I RUN A 273 IN MY UTE WITH SHAVED HEADS & BLOCK, 360 VALVES, AND 340 CAM SHAFT.
THAT EQUALS 7000rpm EVERY DAY AND 140mph. YOU CAN REV THEM ALL DAY AND THEY
SOUND AWESOME!!! ALSO MINE CAME WITH THE STEEL CRANK, THE SAME AS A 340.
In the past, finding affordable pistons for a 273 rebuilt was a challenge. No more. Egge Machine Company has 273 pistons availble in 2 styles, low deck (9:1 compression ratio) and high deck (10.5:1 compression ratio). Prices are reasonable for high compression pistons. www.egge.com .
__________________
WANTED ---SINGLE SIDE OF HEMI EC6 EDELBROCK 6X2 LOG ---

www.chopped.com.au
www.kustomlinez.com
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2011, 03:18 PM   #38
plymouth1952
Senior Member
 
plymouth1952's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Grants Pass Ore
Posts: 2,196
Default Re: 273 mopar engine looking for info

we must have picks Kustom lines a ute mopar I would like to see this please
offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2011, 03:52 PM   #39
Kustom Linez
Member
 
Kustom Linez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: SOUTH MUCKLEFORD AUSTRALIA
Posts: 810
Default Re: 273 mopar engine looking for info

Quote:
Originally Posted by plymouth1952 View Post
we must have picks Kustom lines a ute mopar I would like to see this please
SURE. I HAVE SINCE DITCHED THE CAPS AND RUN BLACK STEELS WHICH LOOKS MUCH BETTER. ONLY PROBLEM I HAVE IS KEEPING TYRES ON THE REAR.

HERE IS THE MOTOR WHEN I FIRST HAD IT IN A COUPE.
__________________
WANTED ---SINGLE SIDE OF HEMI EC6 EDELBROCK 6X2 LOG ---

www.chopped.com.au
www.kustomlinez.com
offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:07 AM.