Register now to get rid of these ads!

Hot Rods 241 Hemi in a 38 Dodge truck

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by 1938 Dodge, Apr 30, 2012.

1. 1938 Dodge

1938 Dodge
    from Biloxi MS

God evening to anyoone and all,
    I'm new to this so here is what I have, its a 1938 Dodge RC Truck which I also have a 241 Hemi just sitting here wanting to go into the truck. I measured the engine and it looks like it will fit but I'm not sure on the steering a what if any mods would I have to do or should I do (mustang II, stock, or sub frame) to make this mod happen?
    If anyone has completed this kind of mod any and all input would be great.
    Thanks in advance for any and all help

2. BuiltFerComfort

BuiltFerComfort

A pic of the stock front end would help. 37-54 Mopar cars were all about the same and a Cavilier or Omni rack and pinion can be made to work. Not sure if trucks are the same.

3. 1938 Dodge

1938 Dodge
    from Biloxi MS

I'll get some pictures tomorrow and post them.

I just loaded a couple of pictures I hope this will help

Attached Files:

Last edited: Apr 30, 2012
  4. monc440

monc440

Welcome to the HAMB from a fellow Mopar HEMI guy. The steering on these is on the left side on the outside of the frame from the gear box to the left spindle then a drag link connects the right spindle. Get the HEMI mocked up where you want it and make your engine mounts. You will not have any issue with steering if you plan to use the stock steering configuration.

5. 36DodgeRam

36DodgeRam

I put a 331 Chrysler in my '36 Dodge pickup, I believe the frame, steering, and cab are the same. Your Dodge hemi should fit easier. The only change I had to make to the steering was to move the steering box back on the frame by 6", lengthen the drag link, and shorten the steering column a like amount. I had to notch my fenders around those big Chrysler heads, I think your fenders will clear a 241.

Attached Files:

6. 1938 Dodge

1938 Dodge
    from Biloxi MS