Register now to get rid of these ads!

finding electrical short (motorcycle)?

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by haring, Jul 9, 2004.

1. haring

haring

My chopper is dead again. It konked out when I got caught in a rainstorm. It died and I lost all power including lights. This has the most basic of electrical systems and no guages, etc.

I checked and charged the battery -- AOK.

The main 30A fuse of the battery was blown, so I replaced that. When I turn the ignition key, I get no response (lights should come on) and the fuse blows again. I assume this means I have a short.

I saw no obivous breaks, frays, disconnections or damage along the wires. How do I go about finding this ellusive short?

-don

2. I'm not a bike mechanic, but are their any junction boxes, relays, etc that could have filled with water? Since it died in a rainstorm, I'd look there..

3. bigron

bigron

check your grounds. see if your getting power to the switch and out of it. you say it got wet. might be corrosion in the switch it self. might be the wire in the headlight shorted out from the moisture. just start checking for power everywhere. check everything don't just awesome it looks ok.

4. Slag Kustom

Slag Kustom

try disconecting the key switch and testing each lead (ignition,lights,genorator,) off it one at a time. when you dont blow the fuse that one is good

5. haring

haring

Update:

I checked again and found that the *moment* that I install the main fuse and connect it, I can hear sizzling back at the regulator, which is mounted out low behind the engine. If I leave it connected for more than a second, the fuse fries. So it has to be the regulator. I'll pull it out and check.

Thanks,
    don

6. disastron13

disastron13

If your ign and light switches are on the bars or the lamp, remember that the greased steering head bearings are not good conductors. Run a heavy ground wire discreetly from the lamp shell to the frame, to bypass the bearings.