Register now to get rid of these ads!

Edsel Ford’s Custom 1934 Model 40 Special Speedster

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Choptop, Aug 20, 2011.

1. Choptop

Choptop

[​IMG]

2. Choptop

Choptop

3. Love that speedster!

I'm in two minds about the resto. It was a great survivor & yet the resto respects its significance. It's really great to see this speedster how it would of appeared when Edsel had it built in '34. The green is understated and a definite improvement over the look at me red!

4. Jonnie King

Jonnie King
    from St. Louis

Edsel was a creative force in his own way. Too bad Henry was afraid to give up some control & give Edsel the leeway he needed to run the company.

Instead, he gave him criticism, ulcers & an early grave.

JK

5. FourBangNCanuck

FourBangNCanuck
    from ON, Canada

My buddy restored that car this year. I was fortunate enough to assist him with the disassembly last year when I worked as a summer intern at RM. Had the opportunity to take a look at it last week before it shipped to Pebble. What a cool car!!

6. That green is so perfect!!!

7. Rikster

Rikster

Looks really great all restored and with new paint....

WOW

Here is some more info on the car

8. greazy john

greazy john

so cool , would love to see it in person..........

GREAZY HUBCAPZ CC

9. went looking on the net, found some more images

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

10. AG F/C

AG F/C

Very classy yet with some English roadster flair. Seems to resemble Jag 120 or maybe the Jag resembles the Ford?

I enjoyed the Edsel Ford House write up on it. It mentioned a welded aluminum frame but the one in the photos looks like its production steel for the day.

Thanks for posting.