Register now to get rid of these ads!

Chevy 250 I6 integrated head?

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by oldsrocket, Jun 25, 2008.

1. oldsrocket

oldsrocket

I'm new to I6s and was wondering what the heck an "integrated head" was on a chevy 250. Is this a bad thing, does it limit hop-up options? What can I do to get around it? I'm about to do a deal on a 250 runner for a pretty nice price and it has this type of head, just wondering if I should bail on it or not. Thanks.

casting info:
    Engine codes:
    GM

2. HEATHEN

HEATHEN
    from SIDNEY, NY

The intake is cast integrally with the cylinder head, like an old Falcon six. Obviously, you're stuck with the stock intake. They also seemed to crack a bit more often than the older style heads.

3. oldsrocket

oldsrocket

damn. will it take a non-integrated style head to get around the issue?

4. HEATHEN

HEATHEN
    from SIDNEY, NY

Yes, if you want to run any sort of aftermarket intake. The shame of it is that the trucks with integral head engines had a '53 Corvette style factory split dual outlet exhaust manifold that won't fit the early non integral heads.

5. David Chandler

David Chandler

Which one do you have, the one barrel single exhaust set up, or the 2 barrel dual exhaust one? The single barrel one makes good torque, but the runners are very small with a triangular shape to them, and lots of lumps and bumps on the bottom where it goes over the exhaust ports, so adding a bigger carb may not help a lot. Also the exhaust guides limit how much it can exhale. The 2 barrel one can work well if you replace the stock carb with a decent two barrel, and you don't have to get the exhaust manafold split to run duals. It just won't sound as good as a split system. I've got the single barrel head for mine, and was thinking of getting the older style head for it. But the yards around here are crushing everything in sight, and I haven't found one yet.

6. 63ChevyII

63ChevyII