Register now to get rid of these ads!

Old Ford Generators and Regulators : I'm not a rocket scientist!

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Flathead Youngin', Jun 7, 2007.

1. Flathead Youngin'

Flathead Youngin'

I’ve been beating my head against the wall over my generator and regulator.

Excuse my rambling and unorganized information, but I don’t know enough about it to put it down in a logical fashion

I NEED SOME HELP!!

I’ve search the net, Fordbarn, here and the MSN tech site. I went to our local starter, alternator, generator rebuilder. These guys have a name and are known for being experts. Long story short, they didn’t seem to know…..I think they know how to fix them and make them work but not explain how/why (that or they didn’t want to share their knowledge- I know some people don’t)

Here are some “facts” that I’ve gathered from places…please add to, correct, etc…

There are two different kind of regulator circuits:
    A circuit regulators the field is grounded (according to "experts" this one is for generators that motor)
    B circuit regulators the field is energized (add 12v???)

I have checked all of my generators to see if they “motor.” This is where you put 12v on the generator and see if spins- generators are just motors…the ones with 3 posts (BAT, G, F) do, but I didnt check the one with two wires coming out of it. The expert said the two wire one takes a B circuit regulator.

Originally Posted by Flat Ernie
    The regulator cares about positive ground, but the generator doesn't.

I was grounding the housing of my regulator to negative. I couldn’t get it to charge. As soon as I read the above statement, I grounded the regulator housing to positive and it worked. However, I’m VERY worried about something falling into the regulator and causing a short.
    So, I switched to a positive ground and couldn’t get it to charge at all (probably something I’m doing).