Register now to get rid of these ads!

fire extinguisher

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by 48fordnut, Oct 31, 2011.

1. 48fordnut

48fordnut
    Member Emeritus

How many of us look at our fire extinguishers? Not more than to look at the pressure. If it is the powder type, the powder cakes in the bottom and won't come out. Break it up by pounding on concrete or something equally hard. Make sure it will shift in the ext ,from on end to another. I had 4 that the pressure was good, but a solid mass till I busted it up.

2. Black Primer

Black Primer

Good advice.
    I've also had one in my shop that had the discharge nozzle packed tight with dirt from mud daubers.

3. I actually pic mine up and guive them a shake at least twice a year. Fire supression was part of my duties the last two places I worked as an operating engineer.

Thanks for the heads up its about that time again and I haven't been thinking about it.

4. What type should I put in my hotrod?

5. rusty rocket

rusty rocket

A guy doesnt think about that. you just figure that you have a extinguisher in the car and your good. Great advice.

6. Gator

Gator

Very good advice - used to be my line of work till I broke my back.

Car fires are usually VERY bad and take off quickly because you have so much fuel and heat in a small confined area. The quicker you can jump on it - even with a small extinguisher - the better chance you have of knocking it down.

Dirt T, an ABC rated dry chemical extinguisher is a good all around choice, about a 2.5 lb. Halon is better but a lot more expensive. Try and get one with a gauge on it so you can be sure it hasn't lost it's charge. You can get a decent on for $25 or less.

Extinguishers are rated for their use and performance - Use is broken down by the type of fire they're intended for;

Class A - wood, paper, cardboard, etc.

Class B - flammable liquids - gas, oil, grease, etc.

Class C - Electrical equipment