PDA

View Full Version : Another ebay scam...steel 37 Cabriolet for $5,500


CharlieLed
09-08-2004, 07:15 PM
How do these scam artists get away with this? Steal someone's ebay identity, use someone else's legitimate auction phtos and write-up, and then try to scam it for pennies on the dollar...
http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&rd=1&item=2489284871&catego ry=6057

40StudeDude
09-08-2004, 07:21 PM
The pic is showing a '37 Cab...but the description lists a '34 Cab...hmmmmmm...something stinks, and for only $5500 buy it now dollars.

R-

hammeredabone
09-08-2004, 07:24 PM
Charlie,When reading the text something does not add up, how did this guy get so much positive feedback? Isn't he violating some federal law when he tries to sell to someone in another state?

trey
09-08-2004, 07:28 PM
and its got anti lock brakes and a drivers airbag, cool!

fatassbuick
09-08-2004, 07:29 PM
Wouldn't it be funny if it was just his pissed off wife selling it?

BigJim394
09-08-2004, 07:31 PM
I like how he says in the decription: "The boot is also the same leather", instead of the "trunk". Some of these scammers also mention the "colour" of the car, giving away that they are most probably located in Europe. Any auction where they ask you to be "pre-approved" to bid should be suspect. There are WAY too many of these hijacked ebay account car auctions showing up on ebay these days. You would think that ebay could write a program for themselves where they would investigate any auction that required bidders to get approval to bid that and had the user password and contact info changed within the last month.

scarylarry
09-08-2004, 07:34 PM
Maybe he's just a dumbass and forgot a number in the front and didnt read it before he sent it in! I dont always proofread my auctions before I send them in. But then, most start at $9.99!

36-3window
09-08-2004, 07:38 PM
[ QUOTE ]
Charlie,When reading the text something does not add up, how did this guy get so much positive feedback? Isn't he violating some federal law when he tries to sell to someone in another state?

[/ QUOTE ]

the auction is bogus ,,,someone has hi-jacked a valid account and is running a scam auction , all the while appearing to be reputable to some buyer...until the deposit is sent to some foreign country via western union....and the buyer figures out the money is gone forever....and the real acount holder is screwed too, all of his personal info has been stolen too

send the seller an email and see what BS story you get in response...he will something like it was his brothers , he got killed in a motorcyle accidnet and he is now in italy clearing up the estate...and he wants a quick sell

if you find more fake auctions , forward them to: ewan@ebay.com he appears to be the only ebay employee he care sabout the fraud and will do something

lefturn
09-08-2004, 08:28 PM
i just send the dude an email to ask him where to send payment and how to pay.
bet you its off shore ....scam

zgears
09-08-2004, 08:39 PM
if you tell ebay its fishy, they'll shut it down quick.

willowbilly3
09-08-2004, 09:54 PM
I have seen those closed auctions that you have to be registered to bid and always something with a cheap buy it now like a panhead choper for $2500 and no one's bidding or another I saw was a nice 59 Corvette for $9000 Buy it now. I e-mailed and ask what was with the registered bidder thing and got some mumbo jumbo about protecting the bidders. I still don't know what that shit is or why ebay even allows it, dam fishy looking.

oldchevyseller
09-08-2004, 10:07 PM
well i searched and found the car , listed on another car site, he wanted 50 thous i cant believe he typed the wrong price, all the items he sold before are legit, pretty crappy ad for a car such as this here is the link it is dated nov 2003, from out east,

http://www.motorcities.com/contents/03KJD520732873.html

oldchevyseller
09-08-2004, 10:12 PM
i followed a few emails and it goes back to this one ,sounds like a dealer just moving cars for people,with a email like that,not that aol is not legit but a business is usually gonna havea name server from the internet provider, doing businesswith them

this is the email that came up
jpstingray@aol.com <jpstingray@aol.com>

Slag Kustom
09-08-2004, 10:26 PM
just looked for it and auction was not valid

CharlieLed
09-08-2004, 10:32 PM
I just got this email reply from the "seller":

Hello and thank you for your e-mail,

Before any bidding takes place I want to introduce myself:
my name is Graham Rossini and my location is Amsterdam/Netherlands.
I want to tell you that I am a collector car dealer in Netherlands
and I had listed on eBay 1 special built car:

-Ford Cabriolet Rumble Seat Rod turquoise-black top- 5500 $US

Condition
=========
The car that you are interested in is in very good condition.Both
exterior and interior are in excellent condition.
This is a good example of a super driver type car.
There are no mechanical defects because the car was inspected.
It is a street legal car and it will pass smog requirements in
every state of USA.

Payment:
=======
The payment must be done using a money order service.
I prefer money order(westernunion wire transfer) because
in this way I will ship the car in the same
day you make the payment and you can have the
car infront of your door very fast.
I am also a Square Trade member.SquareTrade's mission is to build
trust in transactions and work like a third party - to help buyers
know that they can have a
safer and more trusted transaction with a seller who has
committed to high selling standards.
SquareTrade serves a broad range of marketplaces through
partnerships with industry leaders, including
eBay, Verisign, and the California association of REALTORS.


Shipping:
========
Shipping is free and it will be done via Lufthansa Air Cargo and you will
receive the car in 48 hours.


Important !!! :
=============
The funds will be fully refundable if for any reason you do not accept the car
or if the car has scratches, hidden defects, or it is not as advertised.
I will even pay for the shipping back to my location if you reject the car but
since works and looks perfectly I think it would not get to this.
MOREOVER IF WE WILL USE SQUARE TRADE LIKE THE THIRD PARTY YOU WILL
BE INSURED UP TO 10,000 $ IN CASE OF DAMAGE OR IF ANYTHING GOES WRONG WITH
THIS TRANSACTION.
If you agree with these terms,let me know and I will be more than glad to start
to complete the transaction with you.

I will be waiting for your next mail.
Kind regards!

trey
09-08-2004, 10:38 PM
tell him you will take it, but you need him to cash a check for 13k, and however that works.

trey

lefturn
09-08-2004, 10:43 PM
i just got the same email back from him too. what a scam. take him up on it . iwould like to see that airliner land in my front yard with the car lol.Can anyone be that stupid.someone buy it and i'll give you $10000 for it.

Unkl Ian
09-08-2004, 10:57 PM
Free shipping ?

Sounds like a good deal.
http://www.jalopyjournal.com/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/cool.gif

40StudeDude
09-08-2004, 11:25 PM
If I remember correctly, according to the e-bay description, he was on the east coast and the car was located in Tempe, Arizona...now it's to be shipped? And via Lufthansa air cargo...for free! What a dipshit, can't even keep his story straight...

R-

34 GAZ
09-09-2004, 08:04 AM
Damn, Ebay cancelled the auction.I was ready to hitch up the trailer and make the hour drive to Amsterdam. http://www.jalopyjournal.com/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif

The37Kid
09-09-2004, 11:09 AM
Glad that the eBay members cought this auction and had it put down. Guess this is what can happen if you answer one of those fake eBay or PayPal cancellation notices, your accound can be hijacked.

BigJim394
09-09-2004, 01:56 PM
Check this scammed ebay Merc auction. The car is supposed to be in the US while the seller "seems" to be in the UK. In addition to apparently having a problem with English, it looks like they had a hard time with getting the decimal point in the right place for the opening bid and Buy It Now price:


<a href=http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&amp;rd=1&amp;item=2489259966&amp;catego ry=6882>http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&amp;rd=1&amp;item=2489259966&amp;catego ry=6882</a>

lefturn
09-09-2004, 07:00 PM
that merc was on ebay about 6 months ago with a scam also.