View Full Version : Old Ford Generators and Regulators : I'm not a rocket scientist!

Flathead Youngin'
06-07-2007, 01:24 PM
I’ve been beating my head against the wall over my generator and regulator.

Excuse my rambling and unorganized information, but I don’t know enough about it to put it down in a logical fashion

I NEED SOME HELP!!

I’ve search the net, Fordbarn, here and the MSN tech site. I went to our local starter, alternator, generator rebuilder. These guys have a name and are known for being experts. Long story short, they didn’t seem to know…..I think they know how to fix them and make them work but not explain how/why (that or they didn’t want to share their knowledge- I know some people don’t)

Here are some “facts” that I’ve gathered from places…please add to, correct, etc…

There are two different kind of regulator circuits:
A circuit regulators the field is grounded (according to "experts" this one is for generators that motor)
B circuit regulators the field is energized (add 12v???)

I have checked all of my generators to see if they “motor.” This is where you put 12v on the generator and see if spins- generators are just motors…the ones with 3 posts (BAT, G, F) do, but I didnt check the one with two wires coming out of it. The expert said the two wire one takes a B circuit regulator.

Originally Posted by Flat Ernie
The regulator cares about positive ground, but the generator doesn't.

I was grounding the housing of my regulator to negative. I couldn’t get it to charge. As soon as I read the above statement, I grounded the regulator housing to positive and it worked. However, I’m VERY worried about something falling into the regulator and causing a short.
So, I switched to a positive ground and couldn’t get it to charge at all (probably something I’m doing).

I’ve read where the generator doesn’t care whether or not you have a positive or negative ground.